Fried Cabbage and Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Super yummy! I fried up some onions and garlic in the butter before adding the cabbage. Also added a couple torn up leaves of kale, some Worcestershire sauce and red wine vinegar. Then at the very end added some sun dried tomatoes. Mmmmm. Both the husband and baby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I grew up with this same dish, only my Hungarian grandmother called it Haluska (pronounced "haluSHka"). This is one of my favorite meals, super quick and easy to prepare and absolutely delicious! Definitely comfort food. Though my grandmother (and father) never added onions, I do like to add them, plus some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIDONBRENT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I really don’t understand all the great reviews. As is, the recipe is extremely bland. Maybe that’s how it is supposed to be but to my family and I, it really lacked flavor. I added 2 tablespoons of minced garlic and one medium sized onion sautéed to the mixture the 2nd time. This greatly improved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I was very suprised by this. It went over very big and even the person who said they would not touch cabbage agreed this was yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is probably one of the more simple recipes, yet it turns out just as good as others. Cooking time took me quite a bit longer but that is fine. I'll keep this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parshdr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I HAVE EATEN THIS FOR YEARS. It is simple, and filling. you really can't mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This recipe was good and very simple to make. I only used 1/2 stick butter though. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My mother made this for lentin dinners every week when I was growing up. We always topped it with sour cream. We still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was an okay dish. Definitely nothing to write home about. It's probably good if you have kids, because it's so basic and not complex. Maybe something I would make again for a quick week night meal, but that's about it. I used the no-yolk egg noodles and half a stick of butter... a whole one would have made it really greasy and fattening! We had to doctor it up with other spices... I added garlic salt and seasoned rice vinegar, my husband added chili garlic sauce and the vinegar. Easy, quick and very simple... just a little too simple for us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I have 3 college age sons and a fourth in high school. Those 4 guys along with my husband means I need to double the recipe. To make it simple I put the butter and onion in a deep roasting pan in the oven at 350 degrees. When the onions start to brown alittle I add the cabbage. I stir it about every 20 minutes until I get it to the point we like it. I then add the buttermilk biscuit "noodles" to it that I make. Heat those through and all done! No need to salt this dish because I boil the noodles I make in chicken broth. That along with the buttermilk biscuit dough has enough salt added already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States