Fried Cabbage and Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
All I can say is WOW…..made this over Thanksgiving (my oldest is a vegetarian and needed a hearty side) not only did the 17 year old eat it, but so did my 8 year old who hates all things vegetable….This is awesome, will use again, and again, and again, ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My guests loved this recipe. The only thing I added was a peeled diced honey crisp apple at the end. Oh, and I used a bag of slaw that had carrots in it too. My man loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We've made this dish in my family for generations. Two things I would add to the recipe 2 garnishes 1. 5-7 strips of fried bacon (crumbled on top after all is cooked and ready to plate) **Reserve the bacon fat add a little butter and use this skillet to fry your cabbage in. This adds a lot of flavor 2.Before serving top with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I love dishes like this that have survived literally hundreds of years, with just tiny little changes in the spice or herb depending on what part of Europe you came from, my grandmother from Croatia added a little garlic, in the Nordic countries a bit of Caraway was sprinkled on, I've had it in Ireland with a hand full of minced green onion but always with home made noodles which absorb the flavors better than dried and always with unsalted butter. Americans use salted. I fix this basic recipe at least twice monthly and always add something different to it depending on where I want to travel in my mind. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
The ingredients called for are wayyy to much. I only have myself and 2 children to feed. I made adjustments like everyone else. It still taste very bland. Im going to go back and ad garlic powder. I hate to wast food and i think i just did. Gave 3 stars for the ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Prepared just as called for in original recipe. Then I added some Italian sausages that I browned for 5 minutes, reduced heat to low, added 1/2 cup beer to pan, covered and cooked through for 12 more minutes. Sliced the sausages and added to the fried cabbage/egg noodle mixture. Pure heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
The cabbage couldn't brown cause of all the butter and the overall outcome was very bland tasting. I added soy sauce to mine for flavor but then it just tasted like an Asian dish. Also, this makes A TON - a regular skillet isn't big enough (I had to use a wok), so I would recommend cutting the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This dish is sooo yummy. I only added about half an onion and some garlic and cut down my butter to half a cube. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindajoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My teenage daughter LOVED it, thanks for an awesome easy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I'm not sure what to say about this. It was a bit bland, we had to add garlic powder, extra salt 'n pepper. Might add onions next time too, some minced garlic. There wasn't a lot of flavor to it, but we still liked it. We used about half a head of cabbage and 12 oz of egg noodles. Nothing browned. Not sure what I did wrong, and I'm sure it would taste even better that way, but the way it came out wasn't exceptional. 4 stars because I like the idea, but it needs a little work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States