Fried Cabbage and Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I have 3 college age sons and a fourth in high school. Those 4 guys along with my husband means I need to double the recipe. To make it simple I put the butter and onion in a deep roasting pan in the oven at 350 degrees. When the onions start to brown alittle I add the cabbage. I stir it about every 20 minutes until I get it to the point we like it. I then add the buttermilk biscuit "noodles" to it that I make. Heat those through and all done! No need to salt this dish because I boil the noodles I make in chicken broth. That along with the buttermilk biscuit dough has enough salt added already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is DELISH!! I started with homemade spicy sausage that I sauteed with a whole red onion thinly sliced..until the onion was soft..then I added the cabbage and stick of butter..and finally the al-detente noodles..a sprinkling of garlic salt and coarse black pepper to finish it off to taste.. SO SUPER YUMMY.. If I close my eyes ..it kind of reminds me of Chow Mein.. call me crazy..but this is the epitome of comfort food.. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I have made this several times and every bit of it is gone when I do. No leftovers. I love this recipe and I would never have thought of putting these 2 together. I also like to add a few dashes of Tabasco sauced. Delicious. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Excellent!!!! I added a chopped up onion to the cabbage mixture while frying...it was super super yummy!!! Next time I will have to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This recipe, exactly, is how my family has been making it for years. A friend of mine makes it as a side dish, but for my family it is a meal all by itself. My favorite thing is that this heats up wonderfully in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobosMawMaw
Living In: Roebling, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My grandma used to make something similar to this...but we would use macaroni instead and also sprinkle parmesan cheese on top when it was done. Sounds weird but really good, just dont add salt, only pepper and parmesan. you must fry in butter, oil is NOT the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I did add garlic and it was awesome. Great as a main dish or add some meat to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Kinlaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Just a wonderful recipe. I sprinkle a little garlic powder while frying the cabbage. It just adds a little something to yet a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was pretty tasty! I don't think my pan was big enough though, the cabbage never really browned because there was so much butter! Once I combined the noodles and cabbage/onions ( I added 1 sweet onion) I did add about 2 T more butter and let it melt in. I also added garlic salt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TorensMom2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
My mom's German but I make this with bow tie pasta. Love to brown the cabbage pretty well and add the bow ties and brown some more. My husban like to add the Kilbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRUIT N VEGGIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States