Fried Cabbage Texas Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Interesting change from your normal fried cabbage. If you like a little spice, you'll love this side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Loved it! We added some Ro-Tel tomatoes and green chilies. Gave it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Easy to make your own cornbread mix with equal parts cornmeal and flour - a smidge of salt and sugar and double that amount with baking powder. I didn't use bacon so instead I browned the onions and fresh garlic in 1/2 stick a butter (gluttonous but tasty). I'll certainly make this again and thanks ChiliTex for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Living in the south someone always have too many homegrown vegetables, right now its cabbage. I've always used a basic fried cabbage recipe. I wanted to try something new. But this I do believe will be my all time favorite. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
made this today and just love it! what a great southern,downhome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmackenzie
Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Fried some skinless kielbasa and added back into cabbage before serving. I make fried cabbage often, but have never made it with the cornmeal in it. LOVED it. The jalepenos were a great addition too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Awesome!!! Loved the heat it provided, however, next time I make it (and yes there will be a next time) I am cutting the cornbreadmix down by a couple of tablespoons, increasing the bacon and had to add a little EVOO as it was a little dry. I'm not a cabbage fan but this was a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Footnotes Caution When handling hot peppers of any kind , always wash hands or use gloves and do not rub face or eyes. Just a suggestion on the footnote: If you put vegetable oil on your hands prior to handling the hot peppers, you won't feel the burning sensations later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I really liked this one. I've had fried cabbage before but the cornbread mixture addition really changed this. I used turkey bacon and yes you do need to add some more fat to saute this. I added a bit of olive oil. It is pretty spicy, but not overly so.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this for my husband and he loved it. The bacon drippings were not enough to cook the cabbage though. I did use 7 slices of center cut bacon and it was less fatty than other cuts. Everything started sticking, so be prepared to add extra butter or oil. Overall a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States