Fried Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is one of my favorite comfort foods. I make mine a little different though. I always add about 3 potatoes, and some crushed red pepper. Sometimes adding either or both ham (instead of bacon) and mushrooms. It makes it more of a complete meal. I never add vinegar or sugar. Pile it all in the pan and add about a cup of water put the cover on and let it simmer down till all the water is gone and the potatoes are done. I like it all mashed up together in my bowl with butter!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I love the ease of preparation of this recipe. My family really loved the the flavor. Even my son (who hates cabbage) gave it 3 stars. The vinegar was the added extra touch to this easy, flavorful dish. As with ANY cabbage dish, DO NOT OVER COOK the cabbage, and DO NOT USE ALUMINUM PANS. Cabbage contains isothiocynates that break down into smelly sulfur compounds during cooking. The reaction is even stronger in aluminum pans. The longer the cabbage is cooked the more smelly the compounds become. The solution; a brief cooking time. Cook just until tender and use stainless steel pots and pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I followed recipe exactly as written - it was amazing! Served with rack of pork. Looking forward to tossing the leftovers with some spaetzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband and I love to make this recipe! I usually leave the vinegar off, because my hubby prefers without, and I prefer with a little extra. It's so good...definitely a staple side dish in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
LOVED THIS! I used purple cabbage instead but followed the recipe exact. I love bacon and I love this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searoll
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I love cabbage but the flavors in this recipe wasn't right. Yucky in every way possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've been to many church functions and had a sampling of fried cabbage - so this was my first try at it .. and it turned out PERFECT (as written) .. My 'cook it down' time was a bit longer - but I used 3/4 head of cabbage. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is excellent. I just made it today to go w/fried fish and sweet spaghetti, and its perfect. I have never been able to achieve delicious tasting spaghetti like my aunt used to make-- and its my favorite vegetable. Go figure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virtuenow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
very good, although it took a lot longer to cook the cabbage down to the texture I wanted. I also used a whole pound of bacon. My husband and I really enjoyed the leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Really good flavours. I made a veggie version with oil instead of bacon grease. Added some garlic with the onion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States