Fried Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
My new way to make cabbage. I have made this three times since st patricks day this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delish! I only had about a small half cabbage leftover so sliced that thin, 1 sm onion diced, and used about 1/2 Easter Polish sausage from Paulina Meat Market chopped. Over Med ht 2 tblsp bacon fat sizzled and added onion until soft then added sausage to brown up a bit. Added cabbage. Made a slurry of water, salt and pepper and stirred that in. after covered simmering for 15-20 min, heaven! served this with brown rice and hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is a super easy recipe that tastes great! I had a head of cabbage that needing using and decided to give this recipe a try. I made a few changes. I used a pound of italian sausage instead of the bacon because while bacon is delicious it is a greasy mess to make. I didn't need to worry about removing the sausage before adding the cabbage which made the recipe easier. I don't like to measure much so I just used the whole head of cabbage. And I definitely used more cider vinegar. I would just adjust to taste. Everything else stayed the same. The kids. dad, and I all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I love it but my kids didn't go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious! Just like my Aunt's and exactly what I wanted. The only thing I did differently was use 5 slices of bacon and I left all the drippings in the pan. Used the apple cider vinegar at the end to deglaze. Oh, and I cooked mine longer until it had some nice color and that yummy caramelization. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had somebody gve me a big cabbage and 5 onions so this is recipe i came up with. I'm vegetarian so i used butter, simple but yummy. I have only used cabbage for coleslaw, so thank you for idea even though i had to change it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
We loved this. I used very lean bacon, and ended up throwing in a dab of butter too. I had no cider vinegar, so we skipped the vinegar, but I cannot wait to try it with vinegar. I knew the white vinegar would not be the same. I added a pinch of Stevia instead of sugar since we are on a low carb diet. My husband and I both agreed, best cabbage we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this last night...and it was so awesomely simple to make and the flavor was...omg....I couldn't stop eating it!! Made this years ago, but never thought to splash it with the vinegar....Thank you so much for a GREAT recipe!!! I did do 2 things different...used chicken broth instead of water and used purple onion for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I love this!!! I (of course if you knew me) added more bacon. I omitted the sugar and added just a touch of soy sauce. Yummmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
could do without the vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. v

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States