Fried Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This turned out so delish! I did make changes though because I was trying to make something that reminds me of a dish my parents made when I was growing up. I threw the raw bacon in with all the ingredients from the get go, I used balsamic vinegar and probably tripled it (kept adding to taste as the cabbage softened. I used 5 pieces of bacon and a full head of cabbage. I cooked on a lower heat and it took probably about 45 minutes to an hour. This was soooo good - I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good. I did add double the bacon and a head of cabbage and left out the sugar and added some fresh grated garlic. I could have eaten the entire pan by myself. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Family loved this. Followed reciped exactly. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Awesome! My husband was never a fan of cooked cabbage until this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Probably the best cabbage recipe I've had. Only changes are that I used 5 slices of bacon and I used a pinch of brown sugar instead of white. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Wonderful! Huge hit! I added garlic. & I didnt add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My family really liked this. An entire head seems like a lot but it really cooks down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was really delicious! I replaced the water with ½ cup chicken stock. I added a lot of salt and pepper and several more slices of bacon. It was a great dish that I can’t wait to have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
GREAT recipe. Followed the ingredients as given and it turned out wonderful. Now, it's a family favorite. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banduras

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Only thing I changed was using some carrots (sliced thin from my mandolin) instead of the sugar. I threw them in with the onions then added the cabbage. My family makes a similar recipe except they use a whole pound of bacon, a large head of cabbage and a pound of egg noodles. Since I was making this for my 1 year old I couldn't justify all that bacon. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States