Fried Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
What a great way to jazz up cabbage. I did use an entire package of bacon for this, with a silly amount of cabbage to pair with. Only down fall was trying to find a frying pan accommodate that much cabbage until it cooked down. Cooked it in two batches. Tasted delicious. Will be cooking again. Started saving the grease from bacon to use for this recipe. Certainly not healthy, but very yummy once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a great side for almost any meal but goes especially well with baked chicken. The bacon and onion make a fairly boring side delicious. I make it just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I modified just a bit - cooked the cabbage in olive oil and used garlic infused rice vinegar - my husband initially snubbed his nose - but, is now asking for more! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this tonight and I made two "batches". A half a head of cabbage and a half of a yellow onion plus salt, pepper water and sugar. A whole head of cabbage wouldn't fit in my skillet. On the first batch, my husband said he wanted some dijon mustard and that's when I realized I had forgotten the apple cider vinegar. The next batch I added the vinegar. Both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I would also recommend adding more bacon. I made this recipe according to exact directions and I have to say it wasn't quite as good as I have had, but I live in Deep South and they really know how to do vegetables, however they always add too much fat. In this case it's better with more fat. I like the lightness and crispness of the cabbage. Beautiful color and glazed sheen on the cabbage. I am always looking for simple dishes and this site is really the best. Love the ratings system and the chance to see how ppl have chosen to modify recipes. As I just think about this I am wondering if drained water chestnuts or maybe slice almonds would add some zip to this dish. Just a thought as the crunch is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I didn't have bacon so I used butter and added toasted pine nuts at the end. Very, very good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
i liked this but i think bf and bf's daughter liked it more than me.. it was a bit on the greasy side for my taste.. but like i said.. i did enjoy it.. i sprinkled a bit of chicken bouillon along with the salt and pepper.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great! The vinegar takes the bacon grease down a bit and gives it a good tang--husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this as a side dish for crock pot corned beef-Surprising easy and fast and very tasty! I made it as listed and it pleased even the skeptics at the table who professed not to like cooked cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analiese Fammler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I didn't add vinegar only because I forgot, but I'm sure it would be good because I usually add pepper vinegar to my cabbage. Made recipe as is otherwise but didn't measure anything. My 11 yr old son gobbled it up with some cornbread and macNcheese. Comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States