Fried Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We liked this very much. I added an apple and used a whole onion. Delicious, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I had no bacon (who doesn't have that, right?) but used ghee (clarified butter) and smoked paprika instead. This ended up being quite the flavorful vegetarian dish. Before adding the cider vinegar I tasted the fried cabbage. Probably didn't need the vinegar, but I splashed some on anyway. Even better with the vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
If you want to knock down the smell when cooking substitute chicken broth for the water and drop in some garlic. This is truly a good recipe so that's my only addition. CARLYON
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I thought this was okay. My only change was using 1/2 head of cabbage I steamed in the microwave the day before half way. I also used pre-cooked bacon. I use it in recipes all the time calling for bacon with no issues. I ended up still having to cook the cabbage the full 15 minutes. It didn't seem like the cabbage had a lot of flavor. The bacon and onion flavor were very faint. To top, my cabbage imparted a bitter flavor and turned too brown in spots. I would have been happy to just to have eaten it steamed with butter and salt. I have tried similar recipes on the site for St. Patrick's Day. They turned out well. I will have to see what the difference in those recipes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The first time I made this I made it exactly as written. It was a delicious side dish with my pork tenderloin. Another night I made this as a side dish but added freshly minced garlic with the onion. Even more delicious. My family loves this simple dish. So much so I turned it into a meal one night. I made it with the garlic added to the onion again. When the recipe was complete, I added thinly sliced sautéed chicken and some thin noodles to the cabbage. Filling delicious meal! Thank you, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julian R Dunn
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I didn't change a thing, it's simple and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julian R Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is pretty much how I remember my grandmother making her fried cabbage. The cabbage came from her garden, and she would use a half a pound of real thick sliced bacon because she was feeding a lot of people usually. She would cut the bacon into "lardons", and when it was cooked crisp, take it out and put it aside and then cook the cabbage, salt, pepper and only a teaspoon of sugar until the cabbage was carmelized in areas and soft and fragrant. She would put it all in a serving bowl, add the bacon back in, mix it with a serving spoon, and put the vinegar cruet right next to it on the table. Amazing! She has been gone many years, but every time I see this recipe I think of her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I have something very similar to this recipe in a Mennonite cookbook which is currently in storage so I was looking for it online. We love it on hot dogs with some horseradish mustard and habanero cheese. Slicing the cabbage on a mandoline makes it go so much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good! I used red wine vinegar at the end instead of cider vinegar, because I that's the way we ate cabbage growing up. I loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States