Fried Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
As others had suggested, I used granny smith apples, this recipe is delicious! I was really scared of that first bite, u could think u would taste the vinegar but you don't at all, the apples give this a nice bite. Great side dish, i'll be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I loved this, hubs not as much. But I love sauerkraut and cabbage soups, etc. so this was right up my alley. Couldn't be easier. And almost turns out like a warm sauerkraut. I added a bit of onion, garlic powder and pinch of red pepper flake. This was the cabbage dish I served with my re-done St. Paddy's dinner - (Oven Steamed Corned beef and garlic roasted red potatoes) Best St. Patrick's meal we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I found this dish pretty bland. I used apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar, and I used 2 apples instead of 3 based on previous reviews. If I make it again I will try it with 3 apples and cut them in to smaller bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This went well with us today. I used lemon juice instead of vinegar and left out the apples by choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Barnum, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I just harvested a large amount of cabbage from my garden and was looking for something different but quick. This was delish! I served this with slices of pork tenderloin on top and it was a great pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I omitted the apples all together and substituted EVOO for butter. I liked the addition of the brown sugar. This is a good recipe with a few tweaks here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this recipe as directed. This is a very good recipe for using left over shredded cabbage. Not to sweet, or sour. Thumbs up from the wife and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hamm
Living In: Edgewater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made no changes to this recipe except I used coleslaw mix for out-of-the-bag convenience. I thought it was a perfect side dish for BBQ pork sandwiches, and a quick way to serve both fruit and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I prefer olive oil to the butter. Just as good, more heart healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States