Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Yes way too much batter, definitely adjust per other reviewers. For those who had dipping problems, don't double dip, let first coating dry before second dip. I didn't butterfly my shrimp but left the tails on for easier dipping. I used small deep bowls (like cereal bowls) held the shrimp by the tail dipped in batter then crumbs and laid to rest on a cooling rack. I season my crumbs with Old Bay and Seasoned Salt. Looking forward to trying with Panko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These shrimp are great!!!! I made them for the first time last night and enjoyed everybite. This will be the only recipe I use for fried shrimp now. The flavor was good and it wasn't an overload of breading. I did however, dip my shrimp once in the coating and let them sit several minutes just to make sure the coating wouldn't come off while cooking and I added seasoning to my bread crumbs. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooby's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Perfect fried shrimp. I used a cornmeal flour for the first dusting and then finished with panko bread crumbs. They looked like they were from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Wonderful! Much better that what you get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used corn meal instead of bread crumbs for this recipe, and it was delicious!! I will definitely make again!! Maybe next time, I will try the bread crumbs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was soo good. I followed the recipe, only adding half McCormick's Seafood mix and half bread crumbs. No added salt. I did take the advice of others and halved the batter and still had too much. I making this again today. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
great recipe, turned out crispy and delicious...followed the advice of others and used half the amount of liquid (beer) will definitely be using this recipe again! Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margie Agrella Dupuis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We really liked these shrimp, but I would suggest a couple things for sure. First, the wash is very wasteful and I suspect not really even necessary. At least cut the water, egg and cornstarch in half so you don't waste as much. Next, add some sort of seasoning. We used italian bread crumbs and salt. Bet they would have been pretty bland without. I will certainly make these again. Very simple. PS. they took about 2 minutes for large size. So don't overcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Well.......I followed this recipe exactly and for the first batch I fried, the breading came off. I also thought the shrimps were a little bland. For the second batch, I didn't use the cornstarch batter. I used a beaten egg as the batter, added corn meal to the breadcrumbs along with paprika, salt, pepper and garlic powder. I dipped the shrimp in the egg batter, then in the breadcrumbs mixture. This time the breadcrumb coating stuck to the shrimp and they were absolutely delicious!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
try using seafood breader or fish fry instead of the bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States