Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
All I can say is YUMMY! And all my family could say when they had this was the same thing! It's a bit messy making these but its so worth it! I served this with an Asian sweet and sour sauce recipe I got online. The batter is just fantastic, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Both husband and I liked this recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Elton Little

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
The batter for this was ridiculous. I used 1/3 of the water and it was still really runny. I was left with way too much of it and threw a bunch out. The dry mixture is fine but I've had better recipes which used Panko instead and/or also had some unsweetened coconut shavings in it which made it more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I fried shrimp with thawed, precooked shrimp from my freezer and they turned out delicious! I will use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made this for Christmas, came out great. I made it ahead and reheated in the oven. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
this is the best recipie for fried shrimp, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Simple and delicious. I think the water to cornstarch-egg mixture was too watery. Would probably reduce the water next time by 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Terrific recipe! I'm usually not a great fan of fried foods, but we were doing steak & shrimp night for my father-in-law's birthday dinner so I needed a great recipe. They turned out wonderfully crispy and golden brown. Had no problem double dipping them in the batter - and I think this contributed to the wonderful crispiness. The breadcrumbs didn't come off at all after the second dip, though I did let them set for about 5 minutes after the first dip cycle. The only changes I made were: 1. cut water & cornstarch in half (but I left egg count the same) 2. added about 1/4 cup of cornmeal to the breadcrumbs 3. added a tablespoon or so of cajun seasoning. I also used fine grain, store-bought breadcrumbs (1/2 plain, 1/2 seasoned) instead of making my own. This is actually the first time I've ever deep fried shrimp. I was thrilled with how they turned out and got tons of compliments. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by logicalinsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
this was such a simple recipe too and both hubby and me loved it! i changed some of the recipes a lil bit too. like water i just used a cup, i used all purpose flour instead of cornstarch and used ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. i just basically used anything that i have on the cupboard!:) added some spices for the mixtures. turned out so yummy!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agnesz04

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I halved the recipe as did many others trying this recipe. I added cornstarch to the seasoned breadcrumbs as well as garlic powder, seasoned salt, tarragon and pepper. VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States