Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Simple and delicious. I think the water to cornstarch-egg mixture was too watery. Would probably reduce the water next time by 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Terrific recipe! I'm usually not a great fan of fried foods, but we were doing steak & shrimp night for my father-in-law's birthday dinner so I needed a great recipe. They turned out wonderfully crispy and golden brown. Had no problem double dipping them in the batter - and I think this contributed to the wonderful crispiness. The breadcrumbs didn't come off at all after the second dip, though I did let them set for about 5 minutes after the first dip cycle. The only changes I made were: 1. cut water & cornstarch in half (but I left egg count the same) 2. added about 1/4 cup of cornmeal to the breadcrumbs 3. added a tablespoon or so of cajun seasoning. I also used fine grain, store-bought breadcrumbs (1/2 plain, 1/2 seasoned) instead of making my own. This is actually the first time I've ever deep fried shrimp. I was thrilled with how they turned out and got tons of compliments. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by logicalinsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
this was such a simple recipe too and both hubby and me loved it! i changed some of the recipes a lil bit too. like water i just used a cup, i used all purpose flour instead of cornstarch and used ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. i just basically used anything that i have on the cupboard!:) added some spices for the mixtures. turned out so yummy!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agnesz04

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I halved the recipe as did many others trying this recipe. I added cornstarch to the seasoned breadcrumbs as well as garlic powder, seasoned salt, tarragon and pepper. VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Yes way too much batter, definitely adjust per other reviewers. For those who had dipping problems, don't double dip, let first coating dry before second dip. I didn't butterfly my shrimp but left the tails on for easier dipping. I used small deep bowls (like cereal bowls) held the shrimp by the tail dipped in batter then crumbs and laid to rest on a cooling rack. I season my crumbs with Old Bay and Seasoned Salt. Looking forward to trying with Panko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These shrimp are great!!!! I made them for the first time last night and enjoyed everybite. This will be the only recipe I use for fried shrimp now. The flavor was good and it wasn't an overload of breading. I did however, dip my shrimp once in the coating and let them sit several minutes just to make sure the coating wouldn't come off while cooking and I added seasoning to my bread crumbs. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooby's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Perfect fried shrimp. I used a cornmeal flour for the first dusting and then finished with panko bread crumbs. They looked like they were from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Wonderful! Much better that what you get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used corn meal instead of bread crumbs for this recipe, and it was delicious!! I will definitely make again!! Maybe next time, I will try the bread crumbs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was soo good. I followed the recipe, only adding half McCormick's Seafood mix and half bread crumbs. No added salt. I did take the advice of others and halved the batter and still had too much. I making this again today. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States