Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
It's kinda hard to screw up fried shrimp but I really enjoyed this recipe. The breading is very durable and does not crumble as soon as you dip it whatever you dip it in. You can get away with half of the ingredients for the wash and I added about 1/4 cup of flour and some seasoning (garlic powder and black pepper to the bread crumbs. Make ya wanna smack your mamma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uncle fester
Home Town: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Awesome, very good..also made them a 2nd time with gluten-free panko bread crumbs and they were a huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Hands down, the most elegant, scrumptious, delectable fried shrimp I have ever eaten. Mine came out as beautiful as the photo too. Tips: 1) Cut water and cornstarch in half (everything else is fine); you will have a somewhat watery dip but a too-thick dip means you end up with too much breading and too little taste of the shrimp; 2) Double-dipping is a preferred method, as it creates the perfect amount of light/thin crunch; 3) Panko crumbs create the lightest, crispiest breading around. I seasoned mine with a sparse amount of fish rub; 4) If you are using frozen shrimp, run tepid water over them about 60 seconds. This will leave them semifrozen. It is far easier to make the butterfly cut when they're semifrozen instead of fully defrosted. I made a Thai chili/yogurt dip like that served in fine restaurants. I can't believe that these restaurant-quality fried shrimp were created in my own kitchen. Thank you Joy for this marvelous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This should be wonderful using Panko breadcrumbs! I can hardly wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
These were very delicious when I made them about a week ago and my husband keeps asking when I am going to make them again, guess what I am making for dinner tonight. Can't wait to eat them. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I bought home a pound of fresh shrimp and was looking for a great breaded/fried recipe.. This recipe is FANTASTIC! My daughter and I loved the texture and crispiness of the batter, and the batter does stay on perectly! I followed the other suggestions and cut the water and cornstarch in half..also used Panko Breadcrumbs...PERFECTO! will make this recipe ONLY from now on~ Thank YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Just LOVE this recipe! I make something different at least 1x a week. Came across this and my husband and I just love it. I make it about 2x a month. Thanks for sharing this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelliav

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Too much liquid, couldn't get the breadcrumbs to adhere to the shrimp, even with all of the dipping. No salt or seasoning in the recipe. One of the strangest recipes I have ever tried. Was something left out? One quart of water, yikes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I added some seasonings to the breadcrumbs and it was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
All I can say is YUMMY! And all my family could say when they had this was the same thing! It's a bit messy making these but its so worth it! I served this with an Asian sweet and sour sauce recipe I got online. The batter is just fantastic, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States