Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wonderful. I have been searching for the perfect fried shrimp recipe. I will search no more. I agree way too much wash and way too thin. I cut the water down quite a bit. I added enough water to make the wash as thick as pancake syrup. It makes the bread crumbs cling to the shrimp better. I made fresh bread crumbs in my food chopper and tossed them in a little garlic powder and season salt. Then I lightly toasted them in the oven. Much better and cheaper than panko bread crumbs. I dipped the shrimp in the wash and rolled in the bread crumbs and into the fryer they went. My husband sayed it was the best fried shrimp he ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Love the lightness of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
THESE WERE AWESOME! Just be sure not to overcook them :-) Even still they are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This turned out excellent. I did exactly as the recipe calls for. Good with a Remoulade sauce on a poor boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LordGary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Cut corn stach mixture in half at least. Very good and easy. Not too much coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is very good. My husband thought I bought the shrimps from a restaurant. I used 1 ½ cups of water and 2 cups of cornstarch per other reviewer and that was too much for 1lb of shrimps. Next time I will use ¾ cup of water and 1 cup of cornstarch. I added salt & garlic powder into the panko crumb. I did the second coat of the wash and crumb after I finished all the first coat of the shrimps to give time for the crumb to dry up. I also refrigerated the shrimps for half hour to help the breading stick on the shrimps when they are frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight. We didn't like it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
very good & easy recipe - I used the advice of using panko crumbs and 1/2 the water and cornstartch. will make this many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious. About a quarter of the wash is plenty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
great recipe, i added garlic powder to the bread crumbs. very easyband tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani_D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States