Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I gave it five stars coz the shrimp was very crisb like the fried shrimp that we have in our favorite seafood resturant , but the flavor is very poor so I added salt , black pepper, cumin , lemon juice and garlic powder to the shrimp and just salt and black pepper to the water mixture ...so it was the best shrimp I have ever had . as many other reviews said that the water and the cornstarch is toooooooo much for one pound , I had one pound large shrimp and I just used 1/4 the amount of the water and the cornstarch .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
PERFECT! I've finally found the recipe for perfect fried shrimp! The only variance I made to this recipe was to add salt, pepper, and Old Bay Seasoning to the bread crumbs. My family loved these shrimp. They are definitely restaurant quality, if not better. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I have made this recipe many times and absolutely LOVE it. Reminds me of the great fried shrimp places in Chicago. I never bother butterflying the shrimp. Like many, I reduce the water and cornstarch in half. I add a little Louisiana Hot Sauce to the wash as well. For the crumbs I've used saltine crumbs, bread crumbs (I add a little corn meal for extra crunch) and Panko, alternately. They are all good! I always add a little extra spice to the crumbs - usually some garlic powder and paprika. Although I love Panko crumbs, they tend to not stick very well and often wash off on the 2nd breading. Let the shrimp dry a bit after the first dip and the breading will stick better. Make sure your oil is the correct temperature and let them get a nice golden brown which seems to take about 3 minutes. I drain them on a rack over a brown paper bag for a couple of minutes then put them on paper towels in the oven at 150 degrees while I prepare the rest. Serve with some home-made cocktail sauce (ketchup & horseradish)and some Sweet Restaurant Slaw from this site and it's just like Hanson's Fish Market on Harlem Ave! (of course, you have to serve it in a brown paper bag!;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Panko Bread Crumbs make a world of difference. I seasoned the shrimp with Old Bay before diping and coating with Panko. Only one coating is necessary. Restaurant Quality Fried Shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICEPIRATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I usually pay attention to the reviews and adjust the recipe accordingly but somehow I missed the water suggestions. Way too much water, definetely reduce it. If you follow the recipe as stated, you can't double dip. Upon dipping your shrimp the second time around, the liquid mixture just removes the first coat you put on. Just don't coat a second time, it turns out fine. I didn't have any fresh breadcrumbs so I very lightly toasted 6 slices of bread in the oven, then ran them throuh the food processor. I also added salt, pepper and dried parsley to the breadcrumbs. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I am not a seafood person at all. I only made this because my husband loves shrimp. It's hard to cook something that you don't really care for, but I did it. I have to say that this was SUPER easy! My husband said it was great and I think that my 4.5 year old and 5.5 year old each ate at least as much as my husband did if not more, which completely shocked me! And I will admit, I DID try one...not bad for shrimp. ;o) Great recipe! I'll certainly make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was by far the BEST shrimp I've ever had. It was better than restaurant quality. Half of them never even made it to the table because we ate them right out of the pot. The ones that did make it were devoured in record time! We followed the advice to cut the water in half and added a little garlic salt and Emeril seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
pretty good. couldn't give it a 5 because of so many changes. Great basic recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers who recommend cutting down or halving the water, eggs, and cornstarch. I sprinkled a bit of cajun seasoning on the shrimp before battering. Glad I did, or esle it would have been a little bland for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
As updated and modified by other reviewers, this recipe makes a very light coating to help bring out the natural taste of fried shrimp. For a pound of shrimp, you can easily get by using 1 and a 1/4 cup water, 1 egg and 4oz. of cornstarch. It's a must to use Panko bread crumbs. (If you can't find that brand in your stores, put a slice of white bread through a small countertop food processor and lightly dry the flakes in a low heat oven or a microwave). As also mentioned, there's no need to double dip. Dip once in the wash and once in the bread crumbs and then right into the oil. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States