Fried Bass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Best fish recipe I have ever tried. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Absolutely incredible!!! However, I think it could almost be called Bass Schnitzel! Never the less, we served the dish with rice (cooked in half chicken broth and half water) and sprinkled lemon on the rice. We also sliced the Bass into 2-3 inch slices, used 2 eggs, and combined all of the dry ingredients except for the cayenne pepper. We put the cayenne pepper on the fish while it was frying. Lastly, instead of using bread crumbs, we crushed high-end stuffing that added a lot more taste and texture. This was an EXCELLENT dish and I can't wait to thank my dad for catching the bass for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceSpiceBaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloydSix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I used a lot less oil to fry these, I only had a thin layer in my pan. Instead of the cajun seasoning and lemon pepper, I just used salt and pepper. Also used much less flour but way more chips. I've never done a three part breading on fish before and I don't know if that was the reason or the salt and vinegar chips, but I just loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I used a Large Mouth Bass that I caught and cleaned and made filets. One thing I did was soak the filets in milk for a day. The fish came out delicious, without any fishy taste. Thanks for the recipe. Eddiepa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
YUM! This is a really good recipe and I can't wait to use it for fried chicken! My boyfriend caught some Sea Bass in the San Francisco Bay so I wanted to get a good recipe and am so glad I found this one. I used Pringles S&V Potato Chips and vegetable oil because I didn't have peanut oil. Topped it with Avacado Mango Salsa (also on this site) and it was so delicious with the perfect crunch - great idea with the potato Chips! Served it with a green salad and french bread - very nice meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
What a tasty recipe for something so simple. My mother never tried smallmouth bass before and, in general, does not eat fish except for walleye. When she tried this salt-and-vinegar-chip recipe, she enjoyed it so much that she now wants me to make it for our next all-fish Christmas Eve family dinner. I think it will be a hit for everyone at Christmas time. I didn't change/add a thing. Perfection cannot be further perfected. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
FANTASTIC! Great flavors. Made it per the recipe. Will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnDZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Quite good! I found this with a quick search when I decided to cook some Striped Bass that was caught this morning by a neighbor off the coast of Maine. I didn't have any chips, but I did have Panko crumbs. They came out terrific. I imagine very much the same texture as chips. I will have to try this again some time while camping. Didn't get a photo. Ate it all to fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
1 oz. of salt and vinegar chips was not nearly enough to coat the fish for me so I added some salt and pepper kettle style chips that I had on hand. All and all a great recipe but plan on using more chips and less egg. This is one I will use with perch as well as catfish from our pond. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States