Fried Bass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
1 oz. of salt and vinegar chips was not nearly enough to coat the fish for me so I added some salt and pepper kettle style chips that I had on hand. All and all a great recipe but plan on using more chips and less egg. This is one I will use with perch as well as catfish from our pond. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I thought this dish was to oily! Plus the fatty chips . This wasnt a healthy choice on my part sorry, but thanks for some idea's. I'll stick to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
What a tasty recipe for something so simple. My mother never tried smallmouth bass before and, in general, does not eat fish except for walleye. When she tried this salt-and-vinegar-chip recipe, she enjoyed it so much that she now wants me to make it for our next all-fish Christmas Eve family dinner. I think it will be a hit for everyone at Christmas time. I didn't change/add a thing. Perfection cannot be further perfected. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
YUM! This is a really good recipe and I can't wait to use it for fried chicken! My boyfriend caught some Sea Bass in the San Francisco Bay so I wanted to get a good recipe and am so glad I found this one. I used Pringles S&V Potato Chips and vegetable oil because I didn't have peanut oil. Topped it with Avacado Mango Salsa (also on this site) and it was so delicious with the perfect crunch - great idea with the potato Chips! Served it with a green salad and french bread - very nice meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I used a lot less oil to fry these, I only had a thin layer in my pan. Instead of the cajun seasoning and lemon pepper, I just used salt and pepper. Also used much less flour but way more chips. I've never done a three part breading on fish before and I don't know if that was the reason or the salt and vinegar chips, but I just loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Absolutely incredible!!! However, I think it could almost be called Bass Schnitzel! Never the less, we served the dish with rice (cooked in half chicken broth and half water) and sprinkled lemon on the rice. We also sliced the Bass into 2-3 inch slices, used 2 eggs, and combined all of the dry ingredients except for the cayenne pepper. We put the cayenne pepper on the fish while it was frying. Lastly, instead of using bread crumbs, we crushed high-end stuffing that added a lot more taste and texture. This was an EXCELLENT dish and I can't wait to thank my dad for catching the bass for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceSpiceBaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was good and easy to make. I used Striped Bass I caught the day before. I've never used salt and vinegar chips in a recipe before. Inventive! But it lacked a bit in the flavor department and you really only need 2 eggs. I topped it with some Tapatio hot sauce to make it 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I was really excited about this recipe because it was very innovative. It was not bad, but I was not very impressed. I used tilapia because it is what I had, so maybe the bass would have tasted better. I liked the crunchiness of the crust, but it really didn't have a whole lot of flavor. I dipped it into cocktail sauce to give it some taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
FANTASTIC! Great flavors. Made it per the recipe. Will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnDZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloydSix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States