Fried Bass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Quite good! I found this with a quick search when I decided to cook some Striped Bass that was caught this morning by a neighbor off the coast of Maine. I didn't have any chips, but I did have Panko crumbs. They came out terrific. I imagine very much the same texture as chips. I will have to try this again some time while camping. Didn't get a photo. Ate it all to fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Best fish recipe I have ever tried. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I used a lot less oil to fry these, I only had a thin layer in my pan. Instead of the cajun seasoning and lemon pepper, I just used salt and pepper. Also used much less flour but way more chips. I've never done a three part breading on fish before and I don't know if that was the reason or the salt and vinegar chips, but I just loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I used a Large Mouth Bass that I caught and cleaned and made filets. One thing I did was soak the filets in milk for a day. The fish came out delicious, without any fishy taste. Thanks for the recipe. Eddiepa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Absolutely incredible!!! However, I think it could almost be called Bass Schnitzel! Never the less, we served the dish with rice (cooked in half chicken broth and half water) and sprinkled lemon on the rice. We also sliced the Bass into 2-3 inch slices, used 2 eggs, and combined all of the dry ingredients except for the cayenne pepper. We put the cayenne pepper on the fish while it was frying. Lastly, instead of using bread crumbs, we crushed high-end stuffing that added a lot more taste and texture. This was an EXCELLENT dish and I can't wait to thank my dad for catching the bass for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceSpiceBaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was good and easy to make. I used Striped Bass I caught the day before. I've never used salt and vinegar chips in a recipe before. Inventive! But it lacked a bit in the flavor department and you really only need 2 eggs. I topped it with some Tapatio hot sauce to make it 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I thought this dish was to oily! Plus the fatty chips . This wasnt a healthy choice on my part sorry, but thanks for some idea's. I'll stick to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloydSix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
1 oz. of salt and vinegar chips was not nearly enough to coat the fish for me so I added some salt and pepper kettle style chips that I had on hand. All and all a great recipe but plan on using more chips and less egg. This is one I will use with perch as well as catfish from our pond. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I was really excited about this recipe because it was very innovative. It was not bad, but I was not very impressed. I used tilapia because it is what I had, so maybe the bass would have tasted better. I liked the crunchiness of the crust, but it really didn't have a whole lot of flavor. I dipped it into cocktail sauce to give it some taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States