Fried Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I'm glad I didn't waste a whole bunch of asparagus on this recipe. I used maybe 10 or 12 lengths, chopped them as instructed, and followed the directions. The crumbs would NOT stick to the asparagus, even after being dipped in the egg. I tried shaking excess egg off, even THAT didn't help. I came away with greasy asparagus and greasy, fried cracker crumbs. I'll stick with grilled or pan-fried asparagus with butter, but thanks anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I only tried it with a couple of stalks just in case, and the others are right, this isn't worth the time and is a great waste of fresh asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was a great recipe! The kids loved it. I added some parmesan cheese to the crackers and that came out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My suggestion would be to forget the egg and crackers. Instead use a tempura batter and it turns out great. I have used it this way at parties and it is a favorite (also use other veggies, meat, etc. with an electric skillet in the middle of the table). and everyone gets what they want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
My daughter HATES asparagus but she loved this! This was a huge hit with my family. I ended having to make another batch that night it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. I used the crackers and some italian bread crumbs and some parmesan cheese. I also used egg beaters instead of the egg. The kids didn't complain and my husband took thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOMAGIC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
i used bread crumbs instead of crackers...really added a nice taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
MY mom Hates asparagus but when it's cooked this way she loved it. The next day we all ate it re-heated, still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used eggbeater & a little milk then dredged stalk pieces in italian bread crumbs mixed w/equal amount of flour so crumbs would adhere when frying. Came out pretty good...actually better than fried asparagus I had at Figs--a Todd English restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Serve the picky eaters something else and don't waste good asparagus on this bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States