Fried Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I'm glad I didn't waste a whole bunch of asparagus on this recipe. I used maybe 10 or 12 lengths, chopped them as instructed, and followed the directions. The crumbs would NOT stick to the asparagus, even after being dipped in the egg. I tried shaking excess egg off, even THAT didn't help. I came away with greasy asparagus and greasy, fried cracker crumbs. I'll stick with grilled or pan-fried asparagus with butter, but thanks anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I only tried it with a couple of stalks just in case, and the others are right, this isn't worth the time and is a great waste of fresh asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William H. Wiersema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was a great recipe! The kids loved it. I added some parmesan cheese to the crackers and that came out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My suggestion would be to forget the egg and crackers. Instead use a tempura batter and it turns out great. I have used it this way at parties and it is a favorite (also use other veggies, meat, etc. with an electric skillet in the middle of the table). and everyone gets what they want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
My daughter HATES asparagus but she loved this! This was a huge hit with my family. I ended having to make another batch that night it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. I used the crackers and some italian bread crumbs and some parmesan cheese. I also used egg beaters instead of the egg. The kids didn't complain and my husband took thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOMAGIC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
i used bread crumbs instead of crackers...really added a nice taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
MY mom Hates asparagus but when it's cooked this way she loved it. The next day we all ate it re-heated, still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used eggbeater & a little milk then dredged stalk pieces in italian bread crumbs mixed w/equal amount of flour so crumbs would adhere when frying. Came out pretty good...actually better than fried asparagus I had at Figs--a Todd English restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Serve the picky eaters something else and don't waste good asparagus on this bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States