Fried Asparagus with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
YUM! I did use a bit more butter and a little bacon grease. These are really flavorful! I cooked them a little longer b/c we like them on the softer side. I actually forgot to use the parm. on top, but we really didn't miss it (I will use it next time though). This is a keeper...Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
When I tasted this dish I quickly exclaimed, "slap my momma!" This was an easy, quick and very delicious dish. I will definitely be doing it again! I listened to the previous reviewers and decided not to drain the bacon grease at all (I used a very meaty bacon). What more can be said but thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
5 stars for flavor but 1 1/2 tsp of butter was def not enough. I ended up throwing in 2 Tbl more & my shallots & asparagus still wanted to stick & burn. I think I'll add a bit of Evoo next time. Thanks, Kathi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jennifer702
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. Only adjustment I made was use 5 Slices of Bacon, 1.5 Table Spoons of Margarine, drizzled just a tad of EVOO, and used Shaved Parmesan. Definitely doing this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Patrick Higgins
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
It's very quick and easy to make. This is my first recipe I cooked from this site. Asparagus was crunchy, bacon was soft, shallots were cooked just right. I had to cook asparagus for about 9 or 10 minutes instead of 5. I didn't have Parmesan cheese so I put a lot more pepper in. This is great to have as an appetizer or if you're starving and need to prepare something quick. I'm glad I have this in my 'back pocket' now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I skipped the parmesan cheese, but added more butter. Because, butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by ruth
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I loved it!!! I added broccoli and a little more butter as well as some of the bacon fat. And I had fresh rosemary that I minced and added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fabulous! I admit I made it without the butter, since I didn't have any on hand. So I fried up a little extra bacon instead. I'll definitely try this again with the butter, even though it was superb without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I think I'd prefer sauteeing the asparagus over higher heat rather than steaming it with a lid on, but otherwise great flavour. I'll try sauteeing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was super yummy! I made a double batch because asparagus doesn't last long in our house and I'm glad that I did. I also used an extra shallot and a few extra slices of bacon. I tried it as it was cooking and decided to add some season salt because the salt and pepper just didn't seem to be quite enough. Overall, fantastic dish that I will be recreating in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States