Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I like the apple mixture, though next time I will go with 1/2 cup of sugar. Need more work on my pie crust! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Excellent pastry!!! I had already made apple pie filling for a big pie but decided to try fried pies instead. I had my 7 year old son do the pastry and it was a breeze for him, so easy to work with. I did add a bit of sugar to the pastry mix to sweeten it up a bit but other than that, we followed it exactly as written and it worked perfectly. I refrigerated the pies but a bit before frying, so we would have the whole lot rolled and filled before heating up the oil. Always a good suggestion to keep short pastry cold before using. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipes was so easy and delicious. I have made it 3 times in the last week! My husband and 3 year-old son can't get enough! Make sure you don't have the heat too high. I put it on low-medium and they cooked more evenly and the color was more appealing. It gets easier every time you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheliaRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made these following the recipe exactly and they were so yummy! A couple of tips: roll the dough as thin as you can get it without it forming holes- this makes them easier to fry. Also, medium high heat was much too hot on my stove as I burned the first two pies in a matter of seconds. I ended up frying them on low-medium heat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I gave it 4 starts because the filling was great! I read lots of reviews on this one & did make some modifications. I used brown sugar (1/2 c) rather than white, used cornstarch w/ lemon juice to thicken (1 TBS each - could have used a little more) and went ahead & used the Grands biscuits as so many others suggested. I would not recommend using Grands buttery flaky biscuits though. I thought their flavor really distracted from the flavor of the filling & did not complement it at all. And even thought I rolled them out as thin as I could, a few seconds later they would draw back up, thicker than I wanted. I also baked them rather than frying - the edges did not stay together! When I flipped them half way thru in the over I tried pressing them together again on the opposite side, but for the most part that did not help. I can't imagine what would have happened had I tried to fry them. Next time I will try a different variety of biscuits or will try to make the dough from scratch using butter instead of shorting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are amazing!!! My family loved them! So quick and easy to make! My first batch, I saved two so my boys could each have one in their school lunches the next day....(they said they couldn't wait for lunch and had them for morning break) I now double the recipe because they just go too fast!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These were wonderful and easy once you get past the apple prep. They reminded us of McDonald's apple pies- good hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made the recipe as-is except used half butter/half shortening for the dough. Wow! After being fried the dough was exceptionally flaky and apple mixture inside was wonderfully warm and delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was pure heaven! I made this for a dessert dish for a last minute gathering at my house with friends and it was gone in seconds! Very nice flavor and extremely flakey. I used butter because I never use shortening...it's so bad for you. I think eventually I will give in and use it at least once because my MIL swears by it. Thank You again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by SuperUberGoober :)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
these are really good! they are pretty easy to make, and totally worth it!! i made mine a little smaller like 3" in diameter. they are super yummy! my family loved them, i will definatly make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States