Friday Night Veggie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is the first recipe from this site that my family absolutely did not care for. We literally couldn't eat it, it was so bad. Admittedly, I did puree everything together in a food processor at the end, because my brother had just gotten braces on the day before, but that's just a change in texture, not flavor. I have no idea what went wrong- I listed the ingredients and neither my mom nor my brother could figure out the culprit, but either way this turned out horrible and I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This soup was great and easy to prepare! I modified the recipe based on what I had in my cabinets, and it turned out great with the alterations. I added a can of kidney beans, used a smaller can of tomato sauce than was called for, and used vegetable soup mix instead of french onion. I also only used 8 cups of water. My boyfriend loved the soup and said it was similar to the beef stew his dad used to make, without the beef...perfect b/c I'm a vegetarian. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I have to note that I'm not someone that needs heavily spiced foods yet this was still bland for me. HOWEVER, I froze this soup in small freezer bags, and as I defrost them I add cayanne pepper, cumin, and fresh cracked pepper and it's better...I won't ever make it again though...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Serve hot with cold evaporated milk, if desired? I don't get it. Add cold milk to hot soup or serve with it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma G

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I love this soup. You can add any veggies you like, and it keeps well too. I added 1 can of mexican tomatoes to give it a little kick, and left out the tomato sauce. I didn't use frozen vegetables. Instead, I used carrots and fresh green beans. I also left out the evaporated milk. You'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
pretty easy to make. i didn't have tomato sauce, so i used 1/3 cup of tomato paste. i also used golden onion soup mix instead of regular mix and added a few beef bullion cubes. would be great with chunks of beef for to put the "beef" in this vegetable beef tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This was Excellent, at first I thought it was missing something, but I let it set overnight and it was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Great flavor! I added only 8 cups of water and that was more than enough. Also, the frozen vegetables did get a little mushy while the potatoes and celery were perfect. I think next time I make this I will spend the time and cut up fresh vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
This is a great soup for a chilly night!! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States