Freshly Fresh Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I was unimpressed with this recipe. Despite going through about half a dozen paper towels to dry the strawberries (I had a bad experience with a batch of peach muffins where the peaches were too wet), the muffins turned out soggy. They would be better if they had a streusel topping or something. But they were pretty uninspiring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
added a little vanilla for some extra flavor. the weren't horrible... my mom liked them. not so much my dad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Wished I had read the reviews before I made them; you're all right--they were gummy, pale and almost tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Hey Sal, This recipe was fine. I do agree that it could use more sugar, but I always sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top and that worked for me. I substitute yogurt for sour cream every chance I get and it always bakes up just fine. They were not doughy at all, just not sweet enough for me. I will certainly make these again. I always use *100% white whole wheat flour" for my baking. This worked out well too! You have to wonder what people do with a recipe when most of your replies came back to "Sam" instead of Sal. Maybe they misread half of the ingredients too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I should have known better than to bake yogurt. Thhese muffins were very gummy and not flavorful. Don't waste your time on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
the dough was really runny, it took waaaaay longer than it said here to bake, and this recipe is lacking AT LEAST a cup of sugar. If you usually cook you'll feel like there's sugar missing as soon as you start mixing it with the butter... but you'll prove it when they're done. no flavor whatsoever. It might be fixable with more sugar and a bit more flour, but I don't think I'll try this recipe again, when the site has plenty more strawberry muffin recipes that work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I had a good experience with this recipe, although I would make one or two adjustments. I would bake for 20-25 minutes. I used brown sugar and added a dash of real vanilla extract. They were very moist, but I think that's because of the fresh strawberries; you might cut back to 1 cup of strawberries to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
it is okay but i got 24muffins and the taste just wasn't there like i expected it to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I thought these muffins were pretty good. Although I had to bake them longer and they still didn't brown much, they did the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Sorry Sam, but these muffins just are not my cup of tea. Maybe if you tinkered with the recipe they would turn out better. Great idea but needs work, don't give up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Harvey, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States