Fresh Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe was good, but I made a lot of alterations. I used all the fresh veggies I had on hand (celery, carrots, potatoes, etc. I also spiced it up quite a bit with an array or spices out of my cabinet along with some tabasco sauce. Otherwise, it would have been too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes. I make it all year long and have changed it a bit to my liking. In addition to the veggies already in the recipe, I add broccoli, spinach, extra peppercorns, an additional bay leaf, and a little tabasco. Occasionally I'll add cauliflower or any other veggies in season, but definitely the staples above. In order to get it all to fit, I use 1/2 a bunch of celery and 1/2 head of cabbage. I also use large cans of diced tomatoes (2 usually) and leave the juice in the soup. I've never had a problem with bland soup this way. When I serve it, I also add a dash of lime juice. It really enhances the flavors. This soup also freezes well. I'll spend an entire day making several stock pots full at the end of autumn, and then I'm all ready to be snowed in during the winter! During the winter I'll also serve it with a slice of beer bread. In the summer I add an extra squeeze of lime juice and let it cool a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe, and so did my coworkers. I variate it at times by adding either corned beef or meatballs and a can of drained whole kernel corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Needed a lot more salt. Kind of bland. May be much better with chicken or beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Delicious! My husband and I love homemade vegetable soup, and this is absolutely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Delicious recipe - I added some fresh cilantro and a diced bell pepper. For health - no onion soup mix, I used fresh onions very finely diced and sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
Very good, although I did make it my own. First I halved the recipe, then I left out the fresh tomatoes and zucchini and added 1 cn diced tomatoes and 1 cn zucchini in tomato sauce, and 1 small cn of mushrooms. I didn't use the peppercorns, but added 2 beef bullion cubes, worchestershire sauce, a little hot sauce, and some italian seasoning. Very flavorful and still low in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I was creative with this recipe. I used 1/2 head chopped cabbage, approximately 2 stalks of celery, a pkg. of Picsweet Pepper Summer Vegetables, 1 can of Italian Stewed Tomatoes, 1 small can tomato sauce, approximately 1 oz. hot picante sauce, basil and a generous amount of italian seasoning. Then I raided the freezer because I thought it needed more color and added the rest of the frozen corn and green beans. Very tasty. Might add some cayenne pepper after it simmers for the full 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Ok, so this is bland like everyone has said! I even added some boullion & carrots to help a little with the flavor, but still nothing. I don't generally use a lot of meat, but this would taste delicious with some beef stew meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Although this is a nice, straight-forward, easy to make recipe, it really needs a boost. I noticed that most people who gave this recipe a high rating also modified it and added seasoning. In mine, I added Worcestershire sauce, a pinch of red pepper flakes, tomato paste, herbamare, and extra garlic at the end. I also used only 1/2 head of cabbage because it wouldn't fit in the pot I was using and added canned corn, which added some sweetness. With these modifications included, I'd probably rate in 3 1/2 - 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States