Fresh Tuna Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I've made this dish several times and wanted to give the ones that tried it and didn't like it a few pointers. Use Thai chili pepper or a hot Asian/South Pacific pepper instead of jalapeno. You can find them in Asian markets. Also, I would never marinate the tuna over the 2-3 hour time frame before eating. You don't want the tune to lose its texture completely. This is a very popular dish in South Pacific island countries like Micronesia. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tried it but I didn't have ginger or jalapeno. I used tomato and cayenne pepper and it turned out great. I also added a pinch of sugar as my mother always told me to add to all my savory dishes. Reminds me of poke not ceviche but who cares when its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay-Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe although I did change it up a bit. i added chopped tomato, freh cilantro and avacado. even my husband liked it and he does not typically like tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I don't know what happened. I love ceviche and don't mind the raw tuna, but this didn't turn out great for me. Maybe marinating it overnight was too long. The texture of everything didn't turn out great. I liked my friend's ceviche better that used fresh cooked shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Fear not! The lemon (or use lime)literally cooks the fish so it's not raw. If you haven't tried ceviche, now is the time. Scallops are another great option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Simple and delicious. I added some shitake mushroom for a lil xtra flavor.. oh my.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by igigsti
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added fresh diced avocado, some fresh lime juice & cilantro just before serving. This was a hit, even in Minnesota with a "non-sushi" crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Absolutely incredible!I added tomatoes as well and what a fantastic dish. I also tried a little bit with some balsamic vinegar. Just a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
very yummy. probably a safer choice if you're not totally confident in your ability to pick out sashimi quality fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
It was delicious but we had to double if not triple the amount of soy sauce. Being from Louisiana we are a little numb to spice but we couldn't taste the jalapeño at all. we probably would have doubled that as well if we had another. After all, it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States