Fresh Tortilla Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Easy way to make delicious tortilla chips. so much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I didn't really enjoy the product. I hope that was a result of bland-tasting tortillas, rather than the technique, because I did enjoy the process of making my own chips. I'd love to make them from scratch, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I've been making my own tortilla chips this way for almost 20 years. Everyone agrees, they're the best! I usually make these for a crowd, using 3-6 dozen tortillas. When they're done, I dump them into a paper grocery bag, add salt and shake, shake, shake! They're labor-intensive, for sure, but so very worth the effort. If making ahead, undercook them just a bit, then reheat on a baking sheet in a 300º oven for 10 minutes. One tip; add a small amount of salt and taste them with the salsa you'll be serving. Salty salsa + salty chips can be too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I have fried tortilla chips and have found that if you fry them for too long, you will get really chewy chips. Two minutes seems a bit long. Try a minute and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I also baked them, as one reviewer suggested. They were great! The one thing is - it is very tricky to bake them to just the right done-ness. I found that 12 minutes was too long, but with 10 minutes they were still soft. They taste BURNT if they look completely BROWN. The goal is lightly browned on the edges. You may have to take them out and keep taste testing them as you go. I had to throw out my whole first batch because I thought that it was supposed to be brown. After a couple batches, I got the hang of it, and they were a hit served with salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachSali
Home Town: Epsom, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
They sure smelled good but I couldn't get the oil to dry up, even after resting them on a cookie wire and paper towels....they were pretty oily, I used Canola. Seemed like many were just too chewy, and not crispy like the ones you get in a restaurant. I think I'll try the baking method next time. I salted with fine popcorn salt and that worked well. Dipped them into some homemade guacamole and Vegan Bean Taco Filling on AR. Update note: I was just reading in one of my Mexican cookbooks to let the tortillas dry out after you cut them for at least three hours or overnight. Maybe this would keep them from being chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, but my corn chips seemed to be too crispy or too chewy. Plus, they had almost no flavor. I used to work in a Mexican restaurant and we used to make them exactly this way. I don't know if the corn tortillas are formulated differently for the chips, or if they used vegetable shortening instead of canola oil, but these didn't turn out as tasty as I remember. They weren't bad, but for the amount of oil, and the overall taste or heaviness, I would be just as happy with tortilla chips out of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! I cut the tortillas with a pizza cutter which made it easy and gave the chips a uniform shape. I seasoned them with a mix of salt, cumin and chili powder. These are fabulous warm with homemade salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I've been making chips like this for years and people ALWAYS rave about them! My husband calls them "stupid good" lol My tried and true tricks are... 1. Canola oil (vs. veg oil) makes them much crispier. 2. use a cast iron skillet if you can, about 1" of oil 3. Your oil must be very hot or they will be greasy, and you must cook them long enough or they will have chewy spots. I would recommend only turning them once, otherwise the oil will repeatedly saturate. Just put them in the oil and don't mess with them until they're nice and brown, then flip and wait patiently again. 4. Use kosher salt!!!! A sprinkle after every batch, while they're still hot. Then, if you have leftovers, pop them in a 400* oven for 5-8 min and they will crisp right back up again! (which also works great for bagged chips too) GREAT technique, more time consuming that opening a bag but well worth the comments! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I love this recipe because it doesn't call for filling a deep fryer with oil. I used very thin corn tortillas and a whole batch (8 chips) would be done in under 30 seconds. Wonderful! Thanks for the simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States