Fresh Tomato Zucchini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This zucchini tomato soup is easy and tasty. Instead of adding a can or pre made vegetable broth, I soak dried mushrooms and dried lily bulbs in hot water, depending on how much bulk I want in the soup, I may use some of the mushrooms and lilies or toss em out. They're easy to find on Lamma Island, HK, and might be easily found in any asian grocery store elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Winebrenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Delicious.. added a roasted hatch pepper as I had one to use up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I added 1/4 pound of ground pork sausage to satisfy the carnivores amount us and a little less dill and tarragon since I put it in the crockpot to cook all day. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
My soup came out bitter...not sure why but it's still good...One thing is that I grated the zucchine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Really 4 1/2 stars but I rounded up. It was a delicious way to use my garden vegetables! My husband also enjoyed it. I will make it again. I did the following: -Added a can of great northern beans when I pureed the soup to add some fiber and protein. Next time I will make it kidney beans to try and preserve the deep red color of the soup. -added chili powder and red pepper flakes instead of the chili because It was what I had on hand. -used 10 medium tomatoes instead of 8 large. -used chicken broth instead of vegetable. -added extra garlic and left out the tarragon and dill because I didn't have any. -I served it with cheese, garlic toast, and sour cream (a must!) I froze the leftovers (there weren't many) in single serve portions to heat up in the microwave and eat during cooler weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
The tomato's turned out grainy rather than smooth. The flavor profile wasn't what my family expected and it didn't get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I did change a couple of things, not ingredients but the method of getting there. We have a farm and sell at the local Farmer's Market so everthing is super fresh. I peeled my tomatoes and did NOT core them. I put the zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, onion and chili pepper in a roasting pan(covered in olive oil ) and roasted at 425 for about an hour turning them a couple of times. Roasted veggies are so much more flavorful. When they were done I transfered them to the food processor and pureed. I then put them in my "soup pot" on the stove and added my herbs. I added the vegetable broth not using as much as the recipe called for. This is a wonderful fresh soup that can be served rustic or very elegant to guests. Thanks to Susandon for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I added 2 celery stalks with the onion. Mine was very loose and watery, so during the last 10 minutes, I added a cup of evaporated milk and two cups of cooked rice to thicken it. Before serving I sprinkled some fresh chopped basil leaves on top, and we passed parmesan cheese at the table. This was easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Weiss
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I personally couldn't try...the smell made me sick to my stomach.....but my brother-in-law sort of liked it, but that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy'sKitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Vegies came from my husbands garden, thank you hun. Spicy banana peppers, green peppers,zucchini, and tomato's. I'm not a vegie lover-this was great. I added more tomato's than called for...Enjoy warm spicy refreshing soup with salty crisp crackers garnishing with banana peppers...no seeds//no tarragon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States