Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I'm excited to try this, going to freeze for later use, thanks for add'l. comments. It sounds easy and yummy!! OK, so I tried this today OMG, it is so good!!! Thank You Karmele, I did tweak this some, 1st of all I doubled the recipe cuz I'm gonna freeze it, I omitted the gr peppers cuz my husband cant eat them,I also added It. seasoning cuz I will be using it in pasta recipes, I also add 2 TB sp of sugar, just cuz I like the favor and I used beef broth I brought it to a boil and than simmered for 3 hrs without a cover it thickens alot better with out. It is thick like chili right now, perfect!!! Its still cooling so not sure how many cups I've got But I will make more... Thanks for sharing this recipe.. Love It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Excellent salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBGREY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cannelton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Easy and yummy, I also used minced carrots instead of bell peppers and vegetable stock instead of wine. I added 1 tbs flour to thicken it up then I used an immersion blender to make it nice and smooth. After that I added chopped parsley, sliced mushrooms, and cooked ground beef (seasoned with garlic, onion, parley, salt/pepper) to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was really good, and went well with the "pizza on the grill" recipe on this site. Will definetely make this one again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
The sauce came out great. I used 1 hungarian pepper for some zip and 18 plum tomatoes. I sauteed peppers, garlic, and mushrooms before putting in the tomatoes. Also, added 3 tbs. of sugar to cut the acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I had no idea what to make for my sister and brother, I googled homemade tomato sauce and here I am it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is easy, & great---partly because it is FRESH, & because the sodium content is so very low! I use just a bit of sea salt. We love red bell peppers, so sometimes, I use those in addition or instead of the green bell peppers---adds a great flavor to tomatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
people people!!!!this just needs to simmer with the lid on longer until you reach the desired consistancy! Great place to start an italian dinner, just throw in any other veggies, mushrooms, ets..I like to add several jalapeno peppers finely minced. Use on fresh pasta you wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States