Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Easy and yummy, I also used minced carrots instead of bell peppers and vegetable stock instead of wine. I added 1 tbs flour to thicken it up then I used an immersion blender to make it nice and smooth. After that I added chopped parsley, sliced mushrooms, and cooked ground beef (seasoned with garlic, onion, parley, salt/pepper) to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I changed a lot about this recipe. First I took 3lbs of fresh garden tomatoes and halved them, coated them with olive oil and sprinkled them with dried orageno. I roasted them in the oven at 400 degrees for 45 min. I sauteed 5-6 cloves garlic, 2 onions, and 1 green pepper until fragrant and translucent in a big sauce pan. I then added 1 1/2 c fresh basil, 2-3 tsp oregano, and 2-3 tsp fresh rosemary. I sauteed that for another min. Then I placed the roasted tomatoes and all the juices in the sauce pan and simmered for 2 hours. When the tomatoes broke down I added approx. 1 cup of vodka. Simmered for another 1/2 hour and then I pureed the sauce. I added a few sprinkles of dried oregano and parsley while the sauce was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
This recipe is perfect if you're looking for a good base tomato sauce. It easily lends itself to substitutions. For example, I used zuccini someone from work had given me instead of the green bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This is a long process and although it has a variety of vegetables it did not have enough flavour. It also needs to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I used red vine tomatoes and lost the red color. Thin so I let the water cook out which creates thickness. I plan to use it as a base, then add mushrooms, red/green peppers, and onions for a crunch. Next time, I will remove the seeds from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Good basic sauce. I made a few changes. Was out of white wine so just used Appleton rum. Used one red pepper and one green instead of 2 greens. Added a tsp of basil. One onion not three. Yikes. I liked it but I think if I made it next time I would saute the onions and garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
It was too thin and a bit bland. To thicken it up I mixed a bit more white wine and corn starch in a small bowl and then added to the sauce. I also added different veggies that I had on hand: mushrooms, broccoli and spinach. Needs extra spice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
sauce was good but a bit bland so i added fresh oregano, parsley, and rosemary. i blended the mixture to give a thicker and smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe was so-so. Flavor was good but needed to be thickened and blended. I also think the recipe was very vague with sizes of tomatoes. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States