Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Came out great. I've made it twice. If you use a green pepper that is starting to turn red it will have an awesome flavor. It is a bit runny. I take it out with a slotted spoon. Then I toss my noodles with the juice and some extra spices. I serve it with the noodles and eggplant parmesana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe was so-so. Flavor was good but needed to be thickened and blended. I also think the recipe was very vague with sizes of tomatoes. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
We were really disappointed with this recipe. First I thought the ingredient list was vague: 6 tomatoes - how big? How many ounces? Do you skin and seed them? (I did). Same thing with the onions - how many cups or how large an onion? I cooked the sauce for 30 minutes but the sauce was chunky and pretty watery so I used my immersion blender and blended the sauce which helped to thicken it and then cooked it another hour to get ride of more water. The final product was just so-so. Maybe use it as a base, like pizza sauce, but it wasn't good enough to hold up on it's own on pasta. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
sauce was good but a bit bland so i added fresh oregano, parsley, and rosemary. i blended the mixture to give a thicker and smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I found this sauce a bit watery yet it was tasty. I added fresh parsley, mushrooms, and a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper to give it a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Credit, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was really good, and went well with the "pizza on the grill" recipe on this site. Will definetely make this one again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Easy and yummy, I also used minced carrots instead of bell peppers and vegetable stock instead of wine. I added 1 tbs flour to thicken it up then I used an immersion blender to make it nice and smooth. After that I added chopped parsley, sliced mushrooms, and cooked ground beef (seasoned with garlic, onion, parley, salt/pepper) to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Excellent salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBGREY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cannelton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
It was too thin and a bit bland. To thicken it up I mixed a bit more white wine and corn starch in a small bowl and then added to the sauce. I also added different veggies that I had on hand: mushrooms, broccoli and spinach. Needs extra spice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States