Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The sauce is good, but there is NO way any of the cook times are right. Prep time is farthest off, and I cooked mine for 45min-1hr to make it thicken. I must say though, it was worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I'm not sure what happened, but my sauce was very thin and with all the vegetables it was more like a salsa. The taste was good, but I will use the leftovers to dip my chips in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I let this stay on the heat longer than 20 minutes and it thickened the sauce...so very good and lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I thought this was pretty good, but I did add a tablespoon of oregano and tomato paste. Also I put a little less onion. I'll try blending it next time, as it didn't cook down. I think I'll also try adding basil to it. I put it on top of sliced eggplant and stuck it in the oven for 15 minutes at 450 which was very good with Parmesan on top. I think it's a versatile and good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I changed a lot about this recipe. First I took 3lbs of fresh garden tomatoes and halved them, coated them with olive oil and sprinkled them with dried orageno. I roasted them in the oven at 400 degrees for 45 min. I sauteed 5-6 cloves garlic, 2 onions, and 1 green pepper until fragrant and translucent in a big sauce pan. I then added 1 1/2 c fresh basil, 2-3 tsp oregano, and 2-3 tsp fresh rosemary. I sauteed that for another min. Then I placed the roasted tomatoes and all the juices in the sauce pan and simmered for 2 hours. When the tomatoes broke down I added approx. 1 cup of vodka. Simmered for another 1/2 hour and then I pureed the sauce. I added a few sprinkles of dried oregano and parsley while the sauce was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is a good basic recipe. I didn't use the olive oil, green peppers or the onions but added fresh hot peppers and grated zucchini. I skipped the wine too. Now that you mention it, did I even really make the same dish?? However, if you would like the general idea of a fresh tomatoes sauce, this is a good starting place. Then just change it up to match your taste/what is in the fridge. The sauce is indeed runny/watery, but that did not bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Keusen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I agree this recipe is more of a vague idea than a real recipe. Also, you'd have to be pretty skilled to mince 6 tomatoes, 3 onions, 2 peppers and 4 cloves of garlic all in 5 minutes! Right.. Prep alone took 25 min. A nice way to use up summer produce. I added a sprig of rosemary in at the beginning, pureed a bit with a hand blender (after cooking more like 40 minutes) and then added a big handful of fresh chopped basil and parsley at the end. Simple and tasty if you have good fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Don't be afraid to add a little paste and by all means don't use just the fillet!! If you grow your own tomatoes you understand why! Cook it down a little with a lid (about an hour) I start out with a liberal amount of oil, saute lots of chopped garlic and some onion, then add tomatoes, red wine, paste, salt, pepper, a touch of honey if needed and at the very end add fresh basil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I had no idea what to make for my sister and brother, I googled homemade tomato sauce and here I am it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
this was a great base recipe. i had an abundance of grape tomatoes and this was one recipe that gave me ideas on what to do with them, since i was not interested in peeling such little things! i threw in a few roma & cherry tomatoes that i had too. blended in the blender after cooked in some olive oil for about 10 mins. eyeballed my own fresh spices/garlic/onion by taste. if you can work on the fly, you can make this sauce to your own family's tastes. mine was not runny at all, in fact i added some broth to make it less thick. thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States