Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
On your BBQ, roast any chile, roma tomato, onion,or garlic till at least slightly blackened. You wiill be amazeda at the flavor it will add to your salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizdude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
too plain. use red onion, add green, orange AND yellow bell peppers, A cubanelle pepper and a couple deseeded jalepeno and extra lime. let it sit overnight. all these different colors and flavors will make it beautiful and deliciOUS. its not to hot, if you like it hot, use some or all of the jalepeno seeds. it will last a week or two...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aflwrgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This Salsa tasted delicious! Serve with baked chips from fresh cut corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
No thank you. I quartered the cilantro and it still tasted too strong. I will not use this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I'm being generous with my two star rating for this recipe if prepared as written. It's very good with significant tweaking, but by the time you get done doing so it isn't even the same recipe. First off, I cut waaaay back on the serranos - obviously. And I used jalapenos rather than serranos. I wanted to be able to taste this, and you wouldn't be able to if your mouth was numb. Secondly, in my view 1/2 c. each of both onion and cilantro and onion was far too much. It tasted like, well, cilantro and onion. I needed to add more tomato (which I seeded and chopped) to get the balance I thought was right. This recipe, then, is a good reference tool if you're wondering what the ingredients in fresh salsa are - but not for measurements. Make this recipe as written at your own risk. Make a couple of reasonable changes and you've got a fine salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was easy to preapre, and delicious. I did make a few changes to the reecipe. I knew that 5 serrano chiles would make it to hot for us, so I cut down on those. I added jalapinoes intead of the serranos. Also added in avacoda and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Amazingly tasty, especially with a clove of garlic and half a red bell pepper chopped up in there. As others have noted, though, there is NO way I could handle this with 5 serrano chiles. I used 3 and it's already about as spicy as I can handle. I'd recommend 2-3 chiles for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
this was really good although I don't like super hot stuff so I left out the peppers but added a sprinkle of chili powder I also added some lemon juice and garlic. It would have gotten 5 out of 5 stars but this is in no way salsa it is definitely pico de gallo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious and easy. The fresher the ingredients, the better. After reading reviews suggesting a clove of garlic, I decided to substitute salt for garlic salt. Was incredibly tasty. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I love this recipe. Its quick and easy and delicious. I add about one clove of garlic and about 3 different colored bell pepers. I also use all the serrano chiles but add 1 diced mango to this and it helps keep it mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States