Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This salsa was so good! Loved it! Be careful with the serrano chiles, though. Thanks to other reviewers, I was careful and tasted a small piece of chile first. My serrano chile pepper was so hot that I only needed to use one pepper (seeds removed), and I chopped it into very small pieces. I love spicy salsa, and this was definitely spicy enough with just one chile. I served the salsa as a topping for fish and white rice, and it was delicious! My family & I decided next time we'll make fish tacos and add some black beans & shredded cheese! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yummy! I used Jalapeno peppers since that is what I had in my garden, and a sweet white onion because that's what I had in my veggie drawer! Since I was serving it AS dinner one night, I added half a cup of black beans to about 3 big spoonfuls of the salsa and served with tortilla chips. It made me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is so yummy, I could make and then eat a whole batch by myself! My tomato bushes went hog-wild this year, so I've been looking for ways to use them and this is one of the best I've found. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
excellent, but one and half Serranos was enough heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
To those who think that this recipe is to hot remember that chili peppers have a different heat level in different region of the country for example I lived in California for a few years and ate jalapeños every day and they were perfectly hot for me then moved to Indiana and the same peppers there are insanely hot, this goes for serranos also. Just goes to show that peppers from other areas can be hotter or milder. Also the smaller the pepper the hotter it will be. If unsure cut the pepper in half cross ways and touch lightly to your lip you will then know the heat level of the pepper in question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I've made this recipe many times and it's excellent. So fresh and not overdone. Pure, clean, fresh flavour. The only thing I adjust is 5 serrano peppers is WAY too much. I usually make it with 2. Once I used 3 and we could barely eat it, and we like hot. Also, you MUST remove the seeds from the peppers, and I strongly suggest wearing disposable gloves when chopping the peppers. Serrano chiles are required. Jalapenos do not give the same flavour or heat. Does not keep long. Best if consumed the day it is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Delicious and easy! As others suggested, I added a clove of garlic, and I skipped the cilantro because I generally dislike the flavor. I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApplePi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is exactly the ratio of ingredients I have been looking for! I've been tinkering with my salsa recipe for a couple of years now - and apparently the jalapenos were a big part of the problem. The serranos make all the difference - although, I can't quite bring myself to try the full 5, 2.5 works just fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Oh my, this is GREAT! 6-Stars. Thank you so much. It was much tastier the next morning after chilling overninght. I added a tablespoon of olive oil and a teaspoon of salt and one of sugar and cut back a little on the cilantro (personal taste) and used ten roma tomatoes. These additions mellows it out a bit and the oil enhances the flavors. It still has a great bite. - What a great stand-alone or base recipe for customizing. Lots of liquid. Great to chase down your morning eggs with. - Next batch I'll seed the tomatoes and use jalapenos for a milder version. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
good basic recipe. You wouldn't want to use all those peppers. One was enough for us and you want to deseed it first. For something extra put 1 or 2 chipotle peppers in too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States