Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
What a wonderful treat! To cut down fat calories, I lined a dish with a couple of flour tortillas instead of a pie crust. This too eliminated any prior baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
THIS TOMATO PIE RECIPE IS GREAT. I USE THIS RECIPE FOR AN ANNUAL TOMATO FESTIVAL I GET NOTHING BUT GREAT RESPONSE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I loved this! I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the onions first and seeded the tomatoes. It was still a bit too juicy but tasted great. I also topped it with about 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Easy and delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Great recipe! Took the advice of previous reviews and cooked (nuked) the onions briefly before placing into the pie crust. Also drained the sliced tomatoes on several layers of paper towel while I was making the crust. Very good. Family wants it again... soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Wonderful! Use only fresh, from the back yard tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This pie is excellent. I didn't have any fresh herbs, so I added dry basil to the cheese mixture before cooking. It turned out great. The onions were a little too crunchy for my husband, so next time I think I'll saute them a little before putting them in the pie shell. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This pie is absolutely delicious when its cold or at room temp. I followed the recipe exactly except I sliced the onions very thin so The onions did not over power the taste. It came out sooo good. EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!!!!! I will definately put this in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FLOWERBUFF
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
With lots of fresh tomatoes from the garden I needed a few new ideas on what to do with them. Saw this recipe, read some of the tips from other reviewers and incorporated a couple into the pie I made during a visit with my daughter and her family. It was so good an encore was requested two nights later. This is tagged as a family favorite! Thanks Britt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERBUFF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Big hit with the adults in my family! I've made it 3 times in the past 3 weeks, "tweeking" it a little each time. I dice only 1/3 of the onion, use less mayo and mix a little dried herbs in the mayo/cheese mixture. I think next time I'll peel the tomatoes first. However, we loved it the first time I made it when I followed the recipe exactly. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REGMCD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States