Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was very good. I also added some grated Swiss cheese. I did saute the onions and precook the pie crust for 10 mins first as recommended by other reviewers. Instead of slicing, I chopped the tomatoes and seeded them and let them drain for a bit. I topped it with more swiss cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Next time I will cut back on the mayo and add more cheese. Also will chop the onions,which I sauted. Taste is very good! I Broiled the cheese top the last few minutes of cooking til it browned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
A little too much mayo flavor for us. Perhaps next time I'll substitute plain yogurt and see how it goes. Regardless, the idea is great...we really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This got rave reviews from the skeptical males in the family. I thought it was pretty good, they couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Great recipe...I didn't change much..just seasoned to taste...making it as we speak. Fantastic....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was quite good, but as other reviewers did, I modified it a bit. I scooped the inside/seeds out of the tomatoes before adding them to the dish (because of this I probably had to use 25% more tomatoes). I also cut down the mayo a bit and used the new olive oil mayo (which I think heats much better than standard mayo). Lastly, I added green onions, pre-cooked bacon, and shredded cheddar cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Made this yesterday to use up my garden tomatoes. Very easy and fast to put together. I added cooked crumbled bacon to the onions. My teenage daughter liked this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Absolutely excellent! The second time I made it for teenagers I diced the tomato's, added 1/2 pound lean ground beef and used crescent rolls rolled out into a pie plate as the base...key is the fresh basil. You will have absolutely no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zibbie252

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by herm
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
GREAT way to use all your harvested tomato's. My husband loved this! I followed everyone's suggestions to tweak the pie and it came out spectacular! I am making pies for all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good! I don't like mayo so I substituted sour cream, added some italian spices. I suggest letting the tomatoes sit a bit so liquid drains off before adding them to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States