Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
YUM, great recipe in using up the summer tomatoes. I made it last wk. with the pie crust and this wk. I made it with a pre baked pizza crust. I like doing dijon mustard on the bottom , before I start the layers and because I'm watching calories, I did cut down on the cheese and mayo. It still came out great....It's a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is a great way to use up a bunch of tomatoes. It was fun to see the kids' reaction to having tomato pie. They didn't want to try it but did and finished it all. You definitely need all three layers in each bite. It is a good combo! I did cook onions ahead of time as suggested, I may even cook tomatoes a bit too to try to get some liquid out. Used some Romano cheese too. I bet that putting some fresh garlic in the cheese mixture would be delicious. It doesn't state what kind of tomatoes to use, I used a combo of what I had. Roma tomatoes will be less runny than the standard beefy tomatoes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Quick and Easy to prepare! Lots of flavor :) Fresh basil is the key! Light Dish I switched Mayo 2 Cream of Mushroom Soup and a dab of Miracle Whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBodine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Good recipe but please read some to the other reviews before you start. The original recipe is a good base but to me it needs some work i.e. carmalizing the onions, it needs nowhere near 7 tomatoes unless they are small. Also two layers of the cheese/mayo mix helps, one after the onions, one on top. I did not use bacon but it would definitely work with the recipe. But heck, bacon works with just about everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
sauteed onions w/ garlic first. used mostly roma tomatoes. good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Even after salting and draining the tomatoes and pre-baking the crust, this was still way too mushy for me. It also needed to cook for longer and at a higher temp too. The flavor was good but the texture was not. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Holy... this was so good. I like tomatoes, but I was a little wary of trying this. I'm so glad I tried it. Reading others' reviews, though, I decided on the following changes: to the mayo mixture, I added an extra handful of mozzarella, about 1/4c chopped fresh basil (MUST be fresh... no comparison, really!), 5 or 6 slices of crumbled bacon. I sliced the onions and sauteed them in the bacon grease. When assembling the pie, I put the onions on the bottom, 1/2 the tomatoes, 1/2 the mayo mix, then repeated. I ended up using only 3 really large tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Bourque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
The flavor of this was amazing. I would pre-cook the crust a little longer next time and drain my tomatoes more because this was a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Excellent Recipe. I did saute the onions in some butter first before putting them into the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I have a bounty of fresh tomatoes from my garden, so I used beefsteaks. This was so delish! Small problem, beefsteaks are very juicy. Next time I'll use Romas also, I tossed a few cloves of fresh garlic into the cheese miixture, out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States