Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
So easy..so Delicious!!! Might try making a greek version with spinach and feta!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very tasty and easy to do. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Served this as part of my Thanksgiving feast, and I really enjoyed it! I got too busy at the end and completely forgot the fresh herbs :( but I still liked it. I did use salad dressing instead of mayo, if you're serving this to someone who doesn't like dressing they're not going to like the pie! I used a sweet onion and sprinkled extra onion and some garlic over top of the tomatoes before doing the cheese topping. Delicious! And unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Utterly indulgent, luscious way to use tomatoes! Couldn't bear to add that much mayo, so cut back to 2/3 cup and will try 1/2 cup next time (and there will be a next time). Pre-cooked the red onions as well to caramelize them since I knew I would prefer that. Every bite so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made this and loved it. Used a little less mayo and dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A winner! Best when eaten fresh, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was AMAZING, my sister sent it to me, I had an abundance of tom's from our garden! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
YUM, great recipe in using up the summer tomatoes. I made it last wk. with the pie crust and this wk. I made it with a pre baked pizza crust. I like doing dijon mustard on the bottom , before I start the layers and because I'm watching calories, I did cut down on the cheese and mayo. It still came out great....It's a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is a great way to use up a bunch of tomatoes. It was fun to see the kids' reaction to having tomato pie. They didn't want to try it but did and finished it all. You definitely need all three layers in each bite. It is a good combo! I did cook onions ahead of time as suggested, I may even cook tomatoes a bit too to try to get some liquid out. Used some Romano cheese too. I bet that putting some fresh garlic in the cheese mixture would be delicious. It doesn't state what kind of tomatoes to use, I used a combo of what I had. Roma tomatoes will be less runny than the standard beefy tomatoes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Quick and Easy to prepare! Lots of flavor :) Fresh basil is the key! Light Dish I switched Mayo 2 Cream of Mushroom Soup and a dab of Miracle Whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBodine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States