Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was the third time I've made this pie and I really enjoy it. I used a mix of red and yellow tomatoes. The only thing I did differently was to cut the tomatoes into medium chunks for easier cutting. The pie is perfect out of the oven, but does get soggy. I did drain my tomatoes for 1/2 hour, patted them dry and brushed egg on my crust during the 1st bake. Next time, I might put a thin layer of zucchini on the bottom for the crust and the crust on top of the mayo-cheese layer....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is SO good. I thought the mayo mixture would be too much for my hubby, but it wasn't. Made it again and sauteed the onions first. Much better! Also let it sit for a while and it was not as runny. Added Italian seasoning along with the basil and oregano. Yum! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this on a 2 pieces of flat bread. I mixed the onions with a dash of olive oil and put them on the crust while I was browning it. It helped with the crispness of the onions. I also added some baby bella mushrooms to the top. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
With modifications, 5 stars. This can be made with any veggies, from julienned carrots, to peppers, asparagus, broccoli, etc. together with the other veggies as listed....it is better to diminish the number of tomatoes to reduce runniness. We like adding extra or different spices depending on cheeses, and definitely like jalapenos chopped for flavor. Great as is...better still with more veggies and more cheese mix and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was tasty, but soggy. There was a lot of liquid left in the pie and the bottom of the crust was mushy, even though I prebaked it and added a layer of cheese to the bottom. If I make this again, I will seed the tomatoes to try to alleviate that problem. I used red and yellow tomatoes and it looked beautiful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
We really enjoyed this easy-to-make dish. We might try it with mushrooms added the next time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was amazing.. I added mushroms and spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I can't believe I ate the whole thing! I won't be making this unless I have company to share it with or I might eat it all again. I followed other's advice and browned the crust and lined it with basil leaves, added bacon and a bit more cheese. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustForFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My husband & I love fresh tomatoes & I try to find new recipes for them every year. This pie was delicious! I did not have the fresh basil & oregano, so stirred a teaspoon of Italian seasoning into the mayonnaise mixture. This is a definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
We've renamed this "Crack Pie' - I always end up eating more than half the pie myself! SOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States