Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I tweaked this a bit based on reviews. I used fresh tomatoes (peeled and drained well). I had to bake the crust a bit longer. I also took the other reviewer advice and sauteed sliced onions for a few minutes, drained them and layered them on bottom. I put a layer of fresh spinach on top of the tomatoes. I used both the 5 cheese blend AND some shredded mozzarella. I used part mayo and part sour cream. My 2 dinner guests could not imagine a tomato pie but they were pleasantly surprised as it really was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
YUM! I had some other veggies I needed to get rid of (zucchini, fresh mushrooms, fresh spinach and green peppers) so I sliced them up thin and put in there also. I also added the bacon as suggested by others, and for some added flavor I sauteed a couple cloves of garlic and added it. When I told my husband what I was making, he turned his nose up, but when he got the first bite, I had to just about threaten his very existence to prevent him from polishing off the whole pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOT72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jerseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great recipe! As others suggested, I sauteed the onions a bit first and peeled and seeded the tomatoes. The crust still got a a little soggy but I think I'll lay the tomato slices out on paper towels next time. I also added a little garlic powder to the mayo/cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Wonderful flavor! ...Could only fit 3 beefsteak tomatoes in...piled high ...Very watery...soggy crust...precook tomatoe slices first? ...onions crunchy after 1 hour of baking even ...I added 1 tbsp pesto to mayo-cheese mixture...yum! ....I will precook onions and tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
We loved this pie! I did not have garden fresh tomatoes so I used 2 large tomatoes, plus some sliced Cherry tomatoes and added dried tomato pieces. This gave a nice flavor. I also fried the onion w/bacon bits. This made a nice large pie. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
this was Good -- better than "Tomato Pie I" on this site by Donnak, but still I made a few changes: I chopped my tomatoes & sauteed the onion in butter before layering. I liked layering the 1/2 cup chopped FRESH basil in the pie, rather than on top. The topping is the best part -- spread it on thick! Again, the leftovers did not re-heat well -- became soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was very good. I made a home made crust and baked in on a rectangle pizza stone. After reading some reviews, I decided to spread pesto on the baked crust, and sauteed the onion in a frying pan with olive oil and garlic but besides that, I pretty much followed the recipe. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I turned this into a deep dish BLT pie! I used pizza dough instead of pie crust & added bacon. I garnished with shredded lettuce, finely shredded mozzarella, and some choppped tomatoes! Yumm~o!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
perfect side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States