Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It's yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rembrantartist
Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've often thought a tomato pie would be good because I love tomato sandwiches in the summer and this does not disappoint. I didn't change a thing and it was really, really good. I like to use the big beefsteak tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This pie was delicious and a great side dish. I sautéed the onions and a tsp of minced garlic for a few minutes before adding them to the pie. I also used a couple dozen tomatoes from my garden that were ripe, but hadn't quite reached the size you'd see from the store. This ended up with enough to fill two 9" pie crusts. The only other thing I would change would be to halve the mayo and double the cheese for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scheffdawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome! My husband and young kiddos loved it too! I sauteed the onions with some garlic while the shell was baking. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I topped it with tons of fresh minced basil. What didn't get devoured for dinner got eaten for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
We had this for dinner with Amish Paste and Roma tomatoes from our garden. It was very tasty. I did somewhat caramelize the onions and I mixed the fresh herbs in the mayo/cheese mixture. Next time I will add a layer of cooked bacon. Make sure you let it cool before cutting. We will use the leftovers which will be cold for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Cook the crust a few minutes longer, or the pie about 7 minutes longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We really enjoyed this fresh tomato pie. I used tomatoes and basil from the garden. I did add a pinch of sugar to the tomatoes and the second time I made it, I just used six tomatoes. I believe it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It tasted and looked like a winner. My boyfriend loved it too. I will certainly make it again. He said it was one the most amazing things he has ever tasted! I couldn't get enough of the leftovers. Not soggy at all! Here are the adjustments I made: -Brushed the pie bottom with egg whites , sprinkled Italian bread crumbs into the bottom of the crust, then covered the crust with sliced mozzarella cheese -Baked pastry shell for 10 mins -Sautéd onions, bell peppers and garlic in olive oil -Sliced my organic Romano (3 large), cherry and grape tomatoes, added salt & pepper then sprinkled flour on top of them. I then placed them on paper towels for 45 mins. - I didn't use mayo but included goat cheese with my mozzarella combination. I forgot to use my cream cheese but I meant to include it. I added Italian seasoning to my cheese mixture. - I put a middle layer of browned spicy Italian sausage - When assembling the pie I first added the layer of onions and bell peppers, then cheese, followed by the sausage, and finally the cheese again - Garnished with fresh mint then baked for 30 mins at 375 YUMMY! - I'll try to add a photo of it later.. In the meanwhile, I'll go eat more of the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Cook with Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by princessfaith82
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a great basic starter recipe and highly customizable! I add bacon to the mayo/miracle whip mixture for extra flavor along with black pepper and Italian seasoning. I also often add other veggies with the tomatoes (like eggplant). Just be sure to seed and drain the tomatoes in advance, sautee the onions in advance of placing in the pie, and sautee and season any additional veggie you choose to use. Pepperoni also makes a great addition and the cheeses can be changed to your liking. As aforementioned, I always use light Miracle Whip instead of Mayo--it is purely a preference. I also add an egg to the cheese mixture to hold it together better. I double up the topping because that makes it GOOD and use half in the middle of the pie and the rest on the top sprinkled with Italian Seasoning. You really can't go wrong with this recipe and it is fun to experiment with! GO NUTS! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I was afraid this might be bland because it's such a simple recipe, but it turned out to be fantastic and flavorful. My 5 year-old didn't like it, but my husband and I did. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States