Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I have tried many tomato pie recipes and this is the winner, by far! Yes, I agree with the others to drain the tomatoes first and to sauté the onions just a bit. You absolutely must have fresh basil on the top, that's the icing on the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Incredible dish! I added fresh oregano, and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Had to use my garden tomatoes and never heard of tomato pie. Based on reviews I tried this recipe. Delicious! I did follow tips from others about draining tomatoes and dusting them with flour. Baked my pie shell 15 minutes sprinkled parmesan cheese and then lined the bottom with basil leaves. Sauteed my onions. Then layered tomatoes, cheese mixture to which I added some italian seasoning, added crumbled bacon and, by hubby's request, some venison sausage then next layer of tomatoes topped by remaining cheese mixture. It was a full pie. Baked at 375 for 35 minutes. Perfect. Crust was still crisp not soggy at all. Thanks for a wonderful recipe and thanks to others for tips to enhance this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It's yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rembrantartist
Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've often thought a tomato pie would be good because I love tomato sandwiches in the summer and this does not disappoint. I didn't change a thing and it was really, really good. I like to use the big beefsteak tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This pie was delicious and a great side dish. I sautéed the onions and a tsp of minced garlic for a few minutes before adding them to the pie. I also used a couple dozen tomatoes from my garden that were ripe, but hadn't quite reached the size you'd see from the store. This ended up with enough to fill two 9" pie crusts. The only other thing I would change would be to halve the mayo and double the cheese for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scheffdawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome! My husband and young kiddos loved it too! I sauteed the onions with some garlic while the shell was baking. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I topped it with tons of fresh minced basil. What didn't get devoured for dinner got eaten for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
We had this for dinner with Amish Paste and Roma tomatoes from our garden. It was very tasty. I did somewhat caramelize the onions and I mixed the fresh herbs in the mayo/cheese mixture. Next time I will add a layer of cooked bacon. Make sure you let it cool before cutting. We will use the leftovers which will be cold for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Cook the crust a few minutes longer, or the pie about 7 minutes longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We really enjoyed this fresh tomato pie. I used tomatoes and basil from the garden. I did add a pinch of sugar to the tomatoes and the second time I made it, I just used six tomatoes. I believe it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States