Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Incredible dish! I added fresh oregano, and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Had to use my garden tomatoes and never heard of tomato pie. Based on reviews I tried this recipe. Delicious! I did follow tips from others about draining tomatoes and dusting them with flour. Baked my pie shell 15 minutes sprinkled parmesan cheese and then lined the bottom with basil leaves. Sauteed my onions. Then layered tomatoes, cheese mixture to which I added some italian seasoning, added crumbled bacon and, by hubby's request, some venison sausage then next layer of tomatoes topped by remaining cheese mixture. It was a full pie. Baked at 375 for 35 minutes. Perfect. Crust was still crisp not soggy at all. Thanks for a wonderful recipe and thanks to others for tips to enhance this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It's yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rembrantartist
Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've often thought a tomato pie would be good because I love tomato sandwiches in the summer and this does not disappoint. I didn't change a thing and it was really, really good. I like to use the big beefsteak tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This pie was delicious and a great side dish. I sautéed the onions and a tsp of minced garlic for a few minutes before adding them to the pie. I also used a couple dozen tomatoes from my garden that were ripe, but hadn't quite reached the size you'd see from the store. This ended up with enough to fill two 9" pie crusts. The only other thing I would change would be to halve the mayo and double the cheese for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scheffdawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome! My husband and young kiddos loved it too! I sauteed the onions with some garlic while the shell was baking. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I topped it with tons of fresh minced basil. What didn't get devoured for dinner got eaten for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
We had this for dinner with Amish Paste and Roma tomatoes from our garden. It was very tasty. I did somewhat caramelize the onions and I mixed the fresh herbs in the mayo/cheese mixture. Next time I will add a layer of cooked bacon. Make sure you let it cool before cutting. We will use the leftovers which will be cold for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Cook the crust a few minutes longer, or the pie about 7 minutes longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We really enjoyed this fresh tomato pie. I used tomatoes and basil from the garden. I did add a pinch of sugar to the tomatoes and the second time I made it, I just used six tomatoes. I believe it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It tasted and looked like a winner. My boyfriend loved it too. I will certainly make it again. He said it was one the most amazing things he has ever tasted! I couldn't get enough of the leftovers. Not soggy at all! Here are the adjustments I made: -Brushed the pie bottom with egg whites , sprinkled Italian bread crumbs into the bottom of the crust, then covered the crust with sliced mozzarella cheese -Baked pastry shell for 10 mins -Sautéd onions, bell peppers and garlic in olive oil -Sliced my organic Romano (3 large), cherry and grape tomatoes, added salt & pepper then sprinkled flour on top of them. I then placed them on paper towels for 45 mins. - I didn't use mayo but included goat cheese with my mozzarella combination. I forgot to use my cream cheese but I meant to include it. I added Italian seasoning to my cheese mixture. - I put a middle layer of browned spicy Italian sausage - When assembling the pie I first added the layer of onions and bell peppers, then cheese, followed by the sausage, and finally the cheese again - Garnished with fresh mint then baked for 30 mins at 375 YUMMY! - I'll try to add a photo of it later.. In the meanwhile, I'll go eat more of the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Cook with Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States