Fresh Tomato Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Just finished making the Chili Sauce. I had been looking for this for a few years and so happy to have found this one. I's sure the recipe is fabulous as is, but because I didn't have all ingredients this called for, I made a few substitutions. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used 10 reg. cans of diced tomatoes. I used 1/2 teas. ground cayenne pepper instead of the fresh chili peppers and added a couple of shakes of chili powder. Last but not least I only had 1 red bell pepper on hand so added green peppers. When almost ready to finish cooking I noticed that it wasn't as thick as I wanted so added 2 cans of tomato paste. I have it in the caner right now, but did a taste test before. It is delish!! Thanks so much Jan for this recipe. Next year I hope to make it from scratch. :) However, this was really easy. I ended up with 7 pints of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stanford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Reminds me of my Grandmothers recipe I helped her make with fresh tomatoes from her garden when I was a child. Wonderful with fresh cooked purple hull peas or baked in a meat loaf. If you will blanch the tomatoes in boiling water for about a minute and then put in iced water, the tomatoe skin just slides off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Thanks, exactly what I was looking for as I lost my Mom's recipe that I enjoyed when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is a sweet and spicy recipe. I like it but need ideas on how to use it in other recipes. I used 1/4 Tsp crushed red peppers because I didn't have any hot peppers. Plenty of heat for me. I basically cut the recipe in half and made it a bit healthier by using Stevia & Sea salt. Very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This recipes sounds really good and I was thinking of making it, but how many cups/lbs of tomatoes is equal to the 35 tomatoes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the perfect receipe and just what I was looking for ...this summer, with my tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEIFFER007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a very good and simple sauce. Has a great taste and can be used as a base for lots of recipes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
this is the best,one change i did was added celery other then that is is very good the longer it sits the better it will get thks Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Exactly the recipe I was looking for! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
red bell peppers should diced small, not 2 inch pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN LARSEN
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States