Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I've made this at least three times this summer with all the garden tomatoes and it gets better every time! Used fresh basil and lots of it and also kept seeds in and skins on. Very chunky and flavorful...especially with a little extra garlic! Also added a little dried italian seasoning. Will continue to make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Romeoville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This sauce is like GOLD in my cooking repertoire...used for pasta and divine pizza margherita. Tip: An easy way to peel tomatoes to remove their acidity before cooking down: Make star slits with a sharp knife at the stem end of tomatoes, place in boiling hot water for 2 minutes then the skins just fall off. I just got a big box of farm fresh tomatoes given to me so we are in heaven this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was a simple and tasty recipe. I made much less sauce, using these proportions: 3.5 big fresh tomatoes, diced and not seeded, cooked w/ 1 hot chili pepper and 1/4cup of basil. 1/2cup red and 1/2 yellow onions w/ 3 tooths of garlic in olive oil. Slowly, while the sauce was simmering, I kept adding another 1/4cup of chopped basil. Took about 2 hours and was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
A lovely celebration of the flavor of ripe, fresh tomatoes, provided you make a couple of small changes. One word was most likely omitted in the ingredients: Tomatoes should also be PEELED. If not, the peels separate and just become tough little indigestible bits. Before starting, simply blanch the tomatoes in boiling water for 30 seconds, then shock in ice water. They'll slip out of their skins in a heartbeat this way. Then, seed and dice. This step represents a big sensory improvement. Alternatively, you can just quarter the unpeeled, unseeded tomatoes, cook as normal, then pass the whole thing through a food mill. This results in a completely smooth sauce. The food mill removes all the skins and seeds. If you want it chunky, however, you'll have to use the first procedure. Another exception I took to the recipe was that in order to retain as much of that burstingly, achingly fresh flavor that exclaims "summer,", only cook for 20-30 minutes at the barest simmer. Cooking for 2 hours will result in a major loss of the fresh taste and the bright red color. See accompanying picture for a the color and texture of what this looks like when quick-cooked. A feast for the eyes, as well as the palate. As basil loses much of its fresh flavor, color, and texture when cooked, be sure to sprinkle each serving with more right before serving. Those minor changes will result in a superior product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was good, and a great use for all those tomatoes that needed used! I didn't seed them, as I don't mind seeds in my sauce, and like the previous reviewer, I did think it needed a bit more garlic, so I added some garlic powder before serving. Otherwise, a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merrill, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Delicious recipe! Husband brought home baskets of tomatoes & had to use them quickly before they went bad. First time trying this recipe & was very pleased. The only thing I did different was add a little sugar to tone down the tartness & I added Oregano, fresh Rosemary, Marjoram, Thyme, & sea salt. Very flavorful & chunky texture! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
It look a long time, but it was worth it. Seeding 8 pounds of tomatoes is no quick task! It tastes like pomodoro sauce that you get in the italian restaurants--very light but full of tomato and garlic flavor. It makes a TON, something like 8-10 servings, but that's good because my husband can take it to work for lunch. I highly recommend you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I learned to make this type of tomato sauce in Italy. Italian tomato sauce is not as spicy as American versions and it can even be a little watery compared to what we are used to, but nothing beats that indescribably authentic taste over fresh pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I only had 6 tomatoes left from our garden. I boiled them for 2 minutes to make them easier to peel. I cooked everything for 2 hours, pureed it, and let simmer another 2 hours. It was better than I expected! I also added 2 Tbsp. organic butter at the end to add gloss and a little richness - I served it on mini-bowtie pasta - my 5 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Simmer in a very large pan in order to evaporate water much more quickly. I added a fresh cyan pepper for some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States