Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
i did not add the onions, but included onion powder. also simmered for about 1/2 hour. i had some frozen tomato paste and added about 1 - 2 tbsps to thicken. great way to use up tomatoes that are just past their prime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made this for my very picky family and it was hit! A little time consuming but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is the same sauce my Italian mother-in-law taught me years ago and it's so easy to make and so delicious! Adding about a 1/2 to 1 cup of wine(red or white - just make sure it's a wine you love to drink too!) before you simmer it for a few hours gives it some extra depth and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
What could be better then a fresh tomato and basil. To all of you who want to peel a tomato, all one has to do is pour boiling water over them and let them sit for a very brief period, and the skin will come right off. 2 minutes is a bit excessive, to my way of thinking, and unnecessary. If you don't want to cook, you could just peel and cut the tomatoes, add the garlic and basil, with a bit of salt, pepper, oil and vinegar and pour that over the pasta. I know, one should never make suggestions about a change when it is so drastic, but try it, its good, especially on a hot night. Sprinkle parmesean cheese on top. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLBrac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I used much smaller proportions and simmered it down into a thick sauce, which I then put over pizza crust - tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I've got my second batch of Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce simmering away and it is already delicious and rich after only 30 minutes. I follow this recipe with just a couple of changes. First, I do not seed or peel the tomatos; I enjoy the chunky texture with seeds and skins and feel like I'm throwing away the "good stuff" when I peel and seed. I also add at least one full cup of fresh basil but will add a full two cups next time. I like the flavor to be intense and the sauce to be thick and chunky. I heat some up for pasta; I use it as pizza sauce for the Spinach and Feta Pita Bake (this site), for wraps and for the sauce in my spinach lasagna. Thanks for the recipe. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rita, Santa Rita, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I cut this down to about half. I added alot of extra basil and after cooking for two hours the sauce was way too runny. I cooked and cooked and cooked and FINALLY it was the consistancy I wanted. My kids didn't like it very much. I felt it was missing quite a bit of taste. I ended up adding italian seasoning which did help a bit but the flavor was still not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The was simply the best! I've tried several tomato based sauces on this site and this one wins hands down!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Loved it! Easy recipe and VERY tasty!!! Husband went back for seconds and commented 3 times during the meal how incredible it was. Added twice the amount of garlic, otherwise kept the recipe exact. Wonderful, chunky, flavorful summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is great, the only thing I did differently was add the fresh basil to the tomato mixture just before serving. Fresh basil looses its freshness if cooked a long period of time and the color remains bright green if added at the last minute. Minced fresh garlic also adds a wonderful taste. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States