Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I added a small can of tomato sauce. Also, cut onion in chunks along with red and green pepper chunks. Made a "Chunky Tomato Basil Sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS--with only a few changes: sauteed one stalk celery and 1/2 a bell pepper along with the onion [i used 1 1/2 onions] and garlic. I put the sauteed veg in my crock pot with the peeled and chopped tomatoes [probably 8-10 lbs], salt and pepper, and about a Tbls of sugar. Cooked about two hrs. on high, then added about 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil and 2-3 Tbls chopped fresh oregano. Decreased heat to low and cooked another 4 hrs. Makes a perfect basic sauce. Next time I plan to make it spicier with the addition of some red pepper flakes and a few Tbls of worchestershire sauce--YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watergirl40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was amazing after several tweeks! Here is my more flavorful version: 6 large tomatoes (left seeds and peels in tact for nutrients and fibre). 1 large onion, 6 cloves of garlic, 1/4 fresh basil, 1/3 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup dry white wine, 1 Tbsp of fresh chives chopped, 1/8 tsp of fresh cilantor chopped, 1 Tbsp of salsa, 1 tsp of italian seasoning, 1 1/2 tsp of sugar (to reduce acidity), 2/3 tsp salt, fresh ground pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne. Dice the tomatoes in 1/3 cup of olive oil, then add the fried onions/garlic, then add remaining spices and ingredients and cook for 2 hrs on low. If you dont like chunky sauces you can puree it in a blender (or for medium consistency then puree half the sauce and mix the rest in after) This sauce was devine!! For an extra little jazz... you can also add roasted red peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyeDoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I had 3 large ziploc bags of frozen tomatoes and thought I would try this. Delicious!! I dunked the whole frozen tomato in hot water, removed the skin and put them all in the crock pot for several hours. After they cooked down, I removed a good deal (about 4 cups) of excess water, ground them up and followed the recipe as written. Even though I didn't bother to seed the tomatos this still came out terrific. thanks MINDIM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is truely a great recipie. I added different spices for my family's taste. Will never buy sauce again...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this sauce in advance for a birthday dinner. When it was ready, I tasted it and it was good, but by the next day when I served it, the sauce had turned quite acidic and tangy, and I wished I had added more sugar before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy! I didn't have 8 lbs of tomatoes, so I made up the difference with green peppers, carrots and celery that were in the fridge. Threw it into the crock pot while I went off to do errands. The house smelt divine when I came home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
A lovely celebration of the flavor of ripe, fresh tomatoes, provided you make a couple of small changes. One word was most likely omitted in the ingredients: Tomatoes should also be PEELED. If not, the peels separate and just become tough little indigestible bits. Before starting, simply blanch the tomatoes in boiling water for 30 seconds, then shock in ice water. They'll slip out of their skins in a heartbeat this way. Then, seed and dice. This step represents a big sensory improvement. Alternatively, you can just quarter the unpeeled, unseeded tomatoes, cook as normal, then pass the whole thing through a food mill. This results in a completely smooth sauce. The food mill removes all the skins and seeds. If you want it chunky, however, you'll have to use the first procedure. Another exception I took to the recipe was that in order to retain as much of that burstingly, achingly fresh flavor that exclaims "summer,", only cook for 20-30 minutes at the barest simmer. Cooking for 2 hours will result in a major loss of the fresh taste and the bright red color. See accompanying picture for a the color and texture of what this looks like when quick-cooked. A feast for the eyes, as well as the palate. As basil loses much of its fresh flavor, color, and texture when cooked, be sure to sprinkle each serving with more right before serving. Those minor changes will result in a superior product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Unbelievably delicious. This is the most perfect recipe for home grown tomatoes and basil. I will never EVER use a jar of pasta sauce again during the summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Collyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I scale down this recipe and make it very frequently now. When I make this recipe I always increase the basil and garlic. When I use this as a base for other sauces, I add lots of oregano and sometimes some dried basil and a touch of sugar. Fabulous with shrimp. Even better with added eggplant, zucchini, red pepper and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States