Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband & I went a bit crazy with the tomato plants this year and suddenly we had about 15 tomatoes of varying sizes & varieties just sitting around waiting to rot. I decided to act quickly and make some fresh tomato sauce. I picked this recipe since we have loads of fresh basil in the garden as well. I worried this recipe was too simple and the end product would taste like watery raw tomatoes over pasta. I'm happy to report my worries were unfounded. This sauce turned out LOVELY -- so delicious. I sauteed half a softball sized sweet onion and five cloves of garlic in olive oil and added to the tomatoes in the pot (which I first blanched to remove skins, cored & then mashed with a potato masher). I added approx. 1/4 cup of chopped basil leaves plus salt & pepper & a few quick dashes of dried oregano. I can't get over how sweet this sauce is when I never added sugar! It has such a complex flavor with so few ingredients and so little effort that I cannot for the LIFE of me understand how the jarred sauces get it so wrong! This could be eaten as marinara sauce or tomato soup -- because honestly it would be fantastic either way. I did thicken it a bit with a mixture of about a tablespoon and a half of corn starch and some cool water whisked together, then added a bit at a time until the sauce was the desired thickness. This is a great recipe. I shall never fear an overabundance of tomatoes again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Excellent and easy. Even better the next day! I did not use that much oil. Didn't need it. I just sauted the onion and garlic first in a bit of oil and then added the tomatoes. One pot. Upped the garlic. Sauce could easily be tweaked to suite individual tastes. Keep the lid off the pot. Thickens up faster that way. Great way to use up all those extra garden tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Maybe i had exceptional tomatoes and fresh basil, but this is wonderful. I can see blending some up with sautéed veg and having a fabulous soup. It's going to make a tasty base for pasta sauces too. Just did up 50 pounds of tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This sauce is awesome - I had tons of tomatoes from my garden and didn't know what to do with them. This sauce was the perfect thing. I doubled the amount of basil because I also had tons of that in my garden and it tasted divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Yum! This was fabulous....I added fresh oregano and used only about 3 T olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Amazing sauce! I didn't use the whole Onion, but most of it - but I did add extra garlic. I didn't seed them either. It is so delicious - and not just according to me :-) I have canned some of this and plan to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent! My only teeny tiny problem with this recipe is that I felt the proportions were a little off, at least for the result I was going for. I actually used about 2 lbs tomatoes, 1/4 cup minced onion, and a few tablespoons olive oil - but kept the basil and garlic the same. Also added crushed red pepper flakes and a little parsley & oregano. It turned out great; so fresh and delicious. I served it plain over whole wheat penne the first time and for the leftovers I mixed in cooked Italian sausage and shredded mozzarella. Super yummy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I added a small can of tomato sauce. Also, cut onion in chunks along with red and green pepper chunks. Made a "Chunky Tomato Basil Sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS--with only a few changes: sauteed one stalk celery and 1/2 a bell pepper along with the onion [i used 1 1/2 onions] and garlic. I put the sauteed veg in my crock pot with the peeled and chopped tomatoes [probably 8-10 lbs], salt and pepper, and about a Tbls of sugar. Cooked about two hrs. on high, then added about 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil and 2-3 Tbls chopped fresh oregano. Decreased heat to low and cooked another 4 hrs. Makes a perfect basic sauce. Next time I plan to make it spicier with the addition of some red pepper flakes and a few Tbls of worchestershire sauce--YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watergirl40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was amazing after several tweeks! Here is my more flavorful version: 6 large tomatoes (left seeds and peels in tact for nutrients and fibre). 1 large onion, 6 cloves of garlic, 1/4 fresh basil, 1/3 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup dry white wine, 1 Tbsp of fresh chives chopped, 1/8 tsp of fresh cilantor chopped, 1 Tbsp of salsa, 1 tsp of italian seasoning, 1 1/2 tsp of sugar (to reduce acidity), 2/3 tsp salt, fresh ground pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne. Dice the tomatoes in 1/3 cup of olive oil, then add the fried onions/garlic, then add remaining spices and ingredients and cook for 2 hrs on low. If you dont like chunky sauces you can puree it in a blender (or for medium consistency then puree half the sauce and mix the rest in after) This sauce was devine!! For an extra little jazz... you can also add roasted red peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyeDoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States