Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
First homemade fresh tomato sauce I have made. My family loved it just the way it is written. Someone else noted this was far better than any jarred sauce, frankly, I think it blows off canned tomato sauce doctored up too. Even my Italian girl friend who makes a great sauce herself said she was impressed at the flavor for such a simple recipe. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I use this recipe all the time to use up tomatoes from the garden. The only thing I do differently is I cut the tomatoes up in chunks and cook them down on low for about 3 hrs then I run them through a food mill to puree' them then I add them to the onion, garlic mixture. I also add a tsp of brown sugar to get rid of some of the acidity. As stated in the blurp at the top of the recipe this is def. a late summer delight! Thanks Mindim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
followed other directions and blanched, then used the ninja to smooth it all out. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I had some large funky looking tomatoes from our garden - way too many to eat! This recipe is easy and delicious. I did not peel or seed my tomatoes but did cut off some of the skin as I was dicing them to cook. I added about a T. of sugar when I seasoned and used my immersion blender to smooth it out some. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is an extremely easy recipe that yields a lot of product, but in my opinion very little flavor. I think maybe we need to add the basil in LATER? And probably a lot more basil for the amount of sauce we're making here. I was kind of bummed for the amount of work and time it took to complete - I've been to Italy and I love tomato & basil... I was really loooking forward to this, and let down flavorwise in the end :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This sauce is a hit I add sun dried tomatoes in a olive oil drained and use a stick blender to smooth it out. Use it on a variety of dishes ..great flavor with little work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made this with half yellow pear tomatoes and was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this last night, and like some other reviewer's, I thought to myself that this recipe may be a bit bland, and I was tempted to throw in a can of tomato paste for thickener. Bt I'm glad I kept it organically fresh, with no additives or preservatives, because it tastes GREAT! What I did differently was, used 8 cloves of garlic instead of 3 and for thickening, I combined 1 1/2 tbls of flour, 1 tbls of cornstarch, 3 tbls of butter in a sauce pan & made a paste. I added the thickener in the last 30mins of cooking. No guilt, just fresh & natural ingredients ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I love to add cayenne pepper for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina de Faria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States