Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
DELISH! simple, and so flavoursome. I LOVE THIS SAUCE. I didn't QUITE have 8lbs tomato, so I made up the diff with 2 or 3 capsicum. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Yum! I added zucchini & 2T sugar. Seeing as it's the dead of winter, I can only imagine how wonderfully sweet this will be with fresh, home-grown tomatoes. I did not seed the toms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this tonight as a sauce for our Chicken Parmesan and it was delicious. We doubled the recipe and had plenty of sauce left over for pasta later on this week. It was perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicious, perfect application for my Roma tomatoes. Really good recipe. I added a little sugar, to neutralize the acidity also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is the perfect recipe for our summer influx of garden tomatoes. I like to add a bit of crushed red pepper flake to my onions about a minute before I combine it with the tomatoes for a little heat. Excellent sauce for eggplant parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Delicious. Very simple. I got 22 pounds of "second" tomatoes at the local farmers market for $8. It took a long time to seed and peel all of these tomatoes. I decided to make the sauce smooth, so I put the tomatoes in the blender after seeding and peeling. I didn't get enough water out, so it took close to 3 hours to get the right constancy. You can add a can or 2 of tomato paste to thicken it up. I ended up with a little more than 1 gallon of finished sauce; used some for dinner divided up the rest into quart freezer bags and froze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is amazing! I didn't seed or peel the tomatoes and used more garlic and basil but otherwise it was perfect! Gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent fresh sauce! Only changes I made were (1) doubling the fresh basil and garlic (2)adding touch of salt and oregano. Will be making several more batches of this for the freezer before it's too late to get farm tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Absolutely awesome base recipe! We like our sauce chunky so I peeled and seeded tomatoes and coarsely chopped them. I cooked it down quite a bit and the first go around needed more liquid, I added about a half cup of merlot and cooked it off. Also, sugar is not listed, but I added several tablespoons to taste. I also added oregano to taste. I have a whole case of fresh tomatoes, so I am going to put a batch into the food processor for a more "American" sauce. Try this as a base -then add mushrooms, green peppers, even zucchini - whatever your preference. You will be so happy you tried it! Thank you MIND1M for an awesome sauce, I have been preparing and gifting all over town! This sauce is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Simple, quick and easy. My kids (8 and 10 years old) hate tomatoes but loved this sauce!! I made this with cherry tomatoes from the garden since my slicing tomatoes weren't ripe yet. Also, I only had to cook the sauce for about 10 mins on simmer, it still turned out delicious. I crushed up the tomatoes with a potato masher just so it left them slightly chunky. I served the sauce on top of a lean baked chicken breast and they came back begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Parkdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States