Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great way to use all those garden fresh tomatoes in the summer months. Seeding the tomatoes loses a lot of natural flavor, so I simply chopped the tomatoes and then added a 6-oz. can of tomato paste when I stirred together the tomatoes and veggies. This gave the sauce a great consistency and flavor. I also added a chopped green pepper to the onion and garlic for additional flavor and nutrition. My family likes pasta sauce with lots of herb flavor, so in addition to the basil and garlic, I added one heaping tablespoon of dried oregano and some thyme. To make a smoother sauce (for picky kids like mine), puree the cooked tomatoes and veggies before adding the tomato paste. This makes the perfect sauce to eat "as is" on pasta, to use as a pizza sauce, or to use as the base for meat-based Italian sauces. This is a great, basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very tasty. I only had five tomatoes on hand, so I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes to make up the difference. I used the fresh basil called for, but also added a tsp each of rosemary, oregano, and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I thought this was good but better if you put in blender or food processer when it done for a more fine sauce. Freezer well also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I only had 6 tomatoes left from our garden. I boiled them for 2 minutes to make them easier to peel. I cooked everything for 2 hours, pureed it, and let simmer another 2 hours. It was better than I expected! I also added 2 Tbsp. organic butter at the end to add gloss and a little richness - I served it on mini-bowtie pasta - my 5 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This sauce was so yummy. I tweaked it slightly by adding chopped fresh rosemary and fresh parsley (about a heaping Tbsp. of each) and only added about a Tbsp. of basil instead of what the recipe called for. Also added a dash of crushed red pepper for a hint of spice. The sauce was so fresh and delicious. Next time, I may consider peeling the tomatoes first, but that's the only other change I'd make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
not an insignificant undertaking, time-wise. however, it's definitely worth it all. the taste is fantastic. bright, light and fresh. i added just a touch of crushed red pepper because we lot like it with a hint of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This tomato sauce was easy to make and very delicious. I used a combination of cherry tomatoes and regular tomatoes. I seeded the large tomatoes, but just halved the cherry tomatoes and threw them in the pot. In addition to fresh basil, I also used fresh oregano from the garden. After the sauce had been simmering for a couple of hours, I thought it looked a bit chunky for our taste. I pureed half of the sauce in a blender and then stirred it back into the pot to cook and reduce a bit longer. Turned out fantastic, with a really fresh taste. I froze most of it and have given some away to very appreciative friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This sauce is like GOLD in my cooking repertoire...used for pasta and divine pizza margherita. Tip: An easy way to peel tomatoes to remove their acidity before cooking down: Make star slits with a sharp knife at the stem end of tomatoes, place in boiling hot water for 2 minutes then the skins just fall off. I just got a big box of farm fresh tomatoes given to me so we are in heaven this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I learned to make this type of tomato sauce in Italy. Italian tomato sauce is not as spicy as American versions and it can even be a little watery compared to what we are used to, but nothing beats that indescribably authentic taste over fresh pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I make just about the exact same sauce, only I use canned Italian tomatoes, I find Pastene brand to be the best, and sometimes I thrown in some chopped carrots or frozen peas near the end for a change! Definitely the easiest and tastiest tomato sauce I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paola g

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States