Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Beautiful and easy! Go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I add a tablespoon or two of sugar to cut the acidity a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This recipe is my go to when our farm is producing lots of tomatoes! I do not peel the skins... What I find is a good idea to stay away from bitterness is to gently squeeze each tomato of the seeds and then cut and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
So so yummy! Let it cook for 3 hours , it saved 4-5 adults :) I think some prawns would go beautifully with it! Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved this recipe! Exactly what it claims to be. I Didn't remove seeds, I added 1 orange chillie and a little oregano. finished with parmasen cheese! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
this recipe is simple and just plain delicious! I've tweaked it to my taste but just a simple and great sauce I'll continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Great BASIC recipe. This is good starters. But DO NOT sauté. It'll be super mushy. I jut added everything into the pot with an additional bell pepper and about 1/4 cup of sugar. It was to tart for me. I don't think I would have liked it without my additions but like I said very basic recipe. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I really like this recipe but I did a few things a little differently - I sautéed the onions in oil while running the tomatoes through my blender - I kept the seeds and just roughly chopped the tomatoes before processing them. Once the onions were ready, I just poured the tomato puree on top, so that saved me from having to use one more pan. I added a small pinch of freshly cut basil to the sauce every 20 minutes or so, which I think helped me obtain a bright basil flavor. I added a few other dry seasonings for a little lift, like crushed red pepper flakes and garlic salt. Overall this is a great recipe, and its simplicity is what makes it so great. Using fresh tomatoes really does beat any other sauce I've made in the past. Love it! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Overall good and simple and a GREAT way to use up tomatoes in late summer. It ended up a little chunkier than we prefer (specifically my kids), but the flavor was great. Other than the chopping, the cooking itself was low maintenance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was great! we used fresh roma tomatoes which were super easy for de- seeding and also added in a couple fresh chilli peppers to spice it up! I look forward to continue to experiment with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States